| MaizyKissed |
| 2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
To ask a question that seems to have been asked before but incompletely answered, "Does an alchemist's splash damage affect each adjacent square to the target (so, 8 squares besides the target's square) or does it affect four squares total like a 5' radius spell's effects?"
The latter seems to make more sense to me in that it matches up with the four squares one would splash with damage if one targeted an intersection.
But, the former seems to be closer to the RAW, and it is the way I've seen it played. Still, going from 9 affected squares when targeting a creature to 4 affected squares when targeting an intersection would make me want to target some random insect/imaginary foe in the square, thus getting 5 extra squares...
| Quantum Steve |
"Does an alchemist's splash damage affect each adjacent square to the target (so, 8 squares besides the target's square) or does it affect four squares total like a 5' radius spell's effects?"
The former
Still, going from 9 affected squares when targeting a creature to 4 affected squares when targeting an intersection would make me want to target some random insect/imaginary foe in the square, thus getting 5 extra squares...
Don't abuse the rules and they won't abuse you. :)
| Paladin of Baha-who? |
The rules on splash weapons have different situations depending on whether you're targeting a foe/object, or targeting an intersection. What's not entirely clear from the combat chapter of the rulebook is whether you can target an empty square, or if there's no foe or object to hit, you have to target an intersection.