Giant Hermit Crab


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game General Discussion

Silver Crusade RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16

Just came across this one... the power says:
"If the Giant Hermit Crab would be defeated, reroll the dice and use the new result."

Now, I'm gonna go ahead and assume that this should only happen ONCE, not every time you would defeat it. Because otherwise, this monster is completely unbeatable. Mike or Vic, wanna chime in on this one? :)


I'm hoping thats a single use as well. Lol.

So, you really need to defeat it twice in a row to defeat it.

All the best.

Great Uncle LROG

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game Designer

Certainly once only.


Certainly could use the mention "first time you defeat it" , because whatever the designer intention was in writting it, by the rules and the way it is written this monster Is currently undefeatable...

Errata, STATS!


Mike Selinker wrote:
Certainly once only.

Once only "per turn", or once only "per game"?

For example, Player A defeats the giant hermit crab on the first roll therefore has to roll again, on the second roll he fails.
Later in the game Player B encounters and defeats the giant hermit crab on his first roll. Is it defeated?

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game Designer

One per encounter. Cards never retain memory from things that happened on previous turns, or even from encounters that happen on the same turn. (Except for cards that say "until the end of the turn, of course.)


xris wrote:
Mike Selinker wrote:
Certainly once only.

Once only "per turn", or once only "per game"?

For example, Player A defeats the giant hermit crab on the first roll therefore has to roll again, on the second roll he fails.
Later in the game Player B encounters and defeats the giant hermit crab on his first roll. Is it defeated?

Almost certainly once per each time you attempt to make a check against it. Card effects and powers in this game don't have any kind of persistence unless they explicitly say so (e.g. the spells Strength, Glibness, etc. explicitly say their effects last for a turn). There's no "memory" to the Hermit Crab's effect, so it triggers every time you attempt a check against it.


Mike Selinker wrote:
Certainly once only.

The point I was trying to highlight was that answers of this nature can cause further issues.

The full answer of "once per encounter" might be obvious in your mind but it actually needs to be stated, we've seen far to many rules misunderstandings because it has been assumed the correct interpretation would be "obvious" to all.

The Exchange RPG Superstar 2008 Top 6, Contributor

I find the more sentences you add to a rule trying to settle quibbles, the harder it becomes to determine and remember what the rule actually is. I like the card as written, I think it's clear.

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game Designer

xris wrote:
Mike Selinker wrote:
Certainly once only.

The point I was trying to highlight was that answers of this nature can cause further issues.

The full answer of "once per encounter" might be obvious in your mind but it actually needs to be stated, we've seen far to many rules misunderstandings because it has been assumed the correct interpretation would be "obvious" to all.

I appreciate that you're trying to be constructive. Thanks for the feedback.


I think you guys choosed the hardest way to start into the gaming card industry.

Solitaire/cooperative games have to be air-tight about cards action because people play against the system and the system is supposed to play by the letter of the rules, exactly. There can be no place for interpretation or common sense in an automated response, so the action of the system should be detailed and cristal clear.

The trick is that for a balanced point, coop games are usually balanced toward the system, so a card whose intent was unclear but that reading litteraly could be seen as overpowered in a competitive game could be totally legit in a cooperative game.

So sadly, in the current state of the cards, the Giant Crab Hermit is NOT defeatable. That is not a clarification, nor FAQ material, that is a typo and an errata material. The text MUST be changed for the card to behave correctly. If you give people latitude to interpretation in a cooperative game, you broke it, because they will never all agrees on what the intent was and they will start to search for one where there is not.


Hi, I just need a clarification on what I asked:-

Do you need to defeat the Giant Hermit Crab twice in succession.

"If the Giant Hermit Crab would be defeated, reroll the dice and use the new result."

So, you need to defeat it first, reroll the dice and defeat again to fully defeat it.

All the best.

Great Uncle LROG


What about a Summoned card that was Evaded by Sanctuary?

Does the Summoned card remember it was Summoned and go back to the box after Sanctuary was used?

Or does it forget and stay on the top of the Location deck as Sanctuary says it should?


I thought the Hermit Crab was perfectly clear :)

"Re-roll the dice and use the new result"

That's it. Done. The Hermit crab has used his card power once in this check and we all know you can only use powers/boons once per check.

Stop being pedantic - there are many more pedantic threads here that need Vic and Mike's attention and you've had your answer ;)

---

@sador42 - it's best not to cross-post like that. There is a clear thread about Sanctuary (which you have posted in yourself) and all discussion about that issue should go in that thread.


And with that I will stop posting anything more.

Great Uncle LROG


Ok I use the new result.

With the new result I manage to defeat the Hermit Crab...

Wich trigger his ability and tell me to re-roll dice and use the new result one more time.

You can only use your power once by check... didn't know there was the same limitation on monsters cards, you sure they are ?

I am not really arguing that Hermit Crab should be undefeatable. I am arguing that currently, the way it is written and by the rules, as written, he IS undefeatble.


Nathaniel Gousset wrote:
I am not really arguing that Hermit Crab should be undefeatable. I am arguing that currently, the way it is written and by the rules, as written, he IS undefeatble.

You're right, but since most humans got common sense it's not really a problem.

Liberty's Edge

Nathaniel Gousset wrote:

Ok I use the new result.

With the new result I manage to defeat the Hermit Crab...

Wich trigger his ability and tell me to re-roll dice and use the new result one more time.

You can only use your power once by check... didn't know there was the same limitation on monsters cards, you sure they are ?

I am not really arguing that Hermit Crab should be undefeatable. I am arguing that currently, the way it is written and by the rules, as written, he IS undefeatble.

I think that has already been established in this thread. I'm sure they will notate it in the FAQ. In the meantime, I'm sure everyone here has common sense and realizes that no card should be undefeatable.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Sorry I'm late to the discussion. I was confused by my shampoo instructions again. Lather. Rinse. Repeat. Lather. Rinse. Repeat. Lather. Rinse. Repeat. When do I stop!?!?!?!?!

Liberty's Edge

Polyphemus wrote:
Sorry I'm late to the discussion. I was confused by my shampoo instructions again. Lather. Rinse. Repeat. Lather. Rinse. Repeat. Lather. Rinse. Repeat. When do I stop!?!?!?!?!

Based on your avatar...why did you start shampooing?


I understand the fact that it will be fixed in the FAQ.
I know that people will use common sense.

I just pointed out that when creating a cooperative game and giving rules for the system to follow you dont use your common sense. You write things down and follow them exactly.

And, please show me a shampoo bottle with instruction.


Don't worry, TClifford. With an eye like Polyphemus', I'm sure it's "no more tears" shampoo.


I had to shave my head, because I was spending too much time in the shower, and too much money on shampoo. Lather. Rinse. Repeat. Lather. Rinse. Repeat. Lather. Rinse. Repeat. I'd follow the instructions till the bottle was empty, and then have to go buy a new one for the next day!


Nathaniel Gousset wrote:
I just pointed out that when creating a cooperative game and giving rules for the system to follow you dont use your common sense. You write things down and follow them exactly.

Must be where I'm going wrong. I don't suspend all common sense and play like a monkey just because it's a co-op! But you're just not OCD enough about the rules to realise that each power can only be used once per check ;)

Nathaniel Gousset wrote:
And, please show me a shampoo bottle with instruction.

You've never seen one? Jeez... what do you do in the shower?

Here's a random one I found in, oh, 7 seconds on Google:
http://www.dpchallenge.com/image.php?IMAGE_ID=615936

Liberty's Edge

Nathaniel Gousset wrote:

I understand the fact that it will be fixed in the FAQ.

I know that people will use common sense.

I just pointed out that when creating a cooperative game and giving rules for the system to follow you dont use your common sense. You write things down and follow them exactly.

And, please show me a shampoo bottle with instruction.

Go to your shower and check the bottle. As far as I have ever seen, they have had 'directions' on them my entire life.

As for the rule not being clear...your right. /golfclap for you. The rule book and the rules on the cards can be vague. I think it comes down to the fact that the cards change the core rule book so much and there really isn't enough space on the cards to clarify every single situation that a ruling might come up.

So you have your choice. You can sit there in your righteousness and until the card has been errata'd fail every game in which you have to defeat the Hermit Crab. Or you can make a conscious decision to make a ruling on it, supported by statements from the game designer here on these boards, to say it only happens once.

Ultimately, it is your game. Play it how you want.

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game Designer

The sentence in the rulebook:
Each power may be used no more than once per check.
is meant to apply to everything in the game. So technically, the Crab can't use its power more than once.

That said, I can see the point here, and we may take steps to clarify it. Thanks, everyone.

Mike

The Exchange RPG Superstar 2008 Top 6, Contributor

A more interesting question (for me) about double checks.

If no blessing was used on the first check, can you use it on the reroll? This would apply hermit crabs, polearms, and probably a few other things. Just curious if dice can be added between roll and re-roll.

Liberty's Edge

Since it says to just re-roll the dice and doesn't say to make a new check, I would assume that everything that was in place on the first roll would count for the second roll. As for adding additional dice, I would say no. Again, it isn't a check, so you can't just add more dice after the fact. Unless, hypothetically, you have a card that lets you.

Silver Crusade

So if you defeat the hermit crab on the first roll, and fail on the second roll, can you use your longspear reroll? I'm sure you can, but now I'm wondering how many times you can possibly roll the same check.


@RussTaylor - no, you cannot add anything new to the check. You just reroll the dice, re-add your bonuses and see if you succeeded or failed.

@Fromper - yes, I would say that you CAN use your longspear or similar weapon to re-roll the dice again if you failed the second roll. (Of course if you used it to re-roll the first time you've already discarded it and can't use it on the second one)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / General Discussion / Giant Hermit Crab All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.