Duelist's Parry and Two-Weapon Fighting


Rules Questions


7 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Staff response: no reply required.

Parry (Ex): At 2nd level, a duelist learns to parry the attacks of other creatures, causing them to miss. Whenever the duelist takes a full attack action with a light or one-handed piercing weapon, she can elect not to take one of her attacks. At any time before her next turn, she can attempt to parry an attack against her or an adjacent ally as an immediate action. To parry the attack, the duelist makes an attack roll, using the same bonuses as the attack she chose to forego during her previous action. If her attack roll is greater than the roll of the attacking creature, the attack automatically misses. For each size category that the attacking creature is larger than the duelist, the duelist takes a –4 penalty on her attack roll. The duelist also takes a –4 penalty when attempting to parry an attack made against an adjacent ally. The duelist must declare the use of this ability after the attack is announced, but before the roll is made.

I don't think so, but can a Duelist with a dagger in her off-hand lose her additional attacks to activate her Parry ability?


I don't see why not.

Scarab Sages

You wouldn't get the bonus from Precise Strike, since you'd be giving up an off-hand attack and Precise Strike stops working if you attack with an off-hand weapon.... I'm pretty sure this isn't supposed to work this way, or that it's the most efficient way to get it done but... *shrugs*

Parry also requires you to take a Full Attack action and only makes an exception for one of the attacks, so if you were planning to make a TWF/Duelist you're going to bump into more issues.


Except you never attack with your offhand if you use it to parry.
So you use TWF but don't attack with your offhand you still get the bonus from precise strike and you can parry one attack.


I think with the rules, however, you can only sacrifice one attack and no more so it would become pointless later on with improved and greater two-weapon fighting. I was thinking I could sacrifice more than one.

Silver Crusade

Parry wrote:
To parry the attack, the duelist makes an attack roll.

I wouldn't be too confident that you'd retain Precise Strike if you parry with an off-hand weapon. It seems that you still make an attack, but use that to parry. If you used an attack to sunder, trip or disarm, it would still be an attack. I can see no real difference here.

I would like to use a 'parrying weapon' with the duelist PrC. If you're not playing PFS, talk to you're DM; he may allow it.

Maybe you could ask for an official FAQ?


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

I just FAQ'd it, I'm curious.


I also wonder how "Duelist's Vambraces" work with this!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Duelist's Parry and Two-Weapon Fighting All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions