Attacking with Throwing Shield a Free Action?


Rules Questions


5 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
Quote:


Throwing Shield: This shield is designed for throwing and has specially designed straps allowing you to unclasp and throw it as a free action. Tower shields cannot be throwing shields. Neither a shield's enhancement bonus to AC nor its shield spikes apply on your attack or damage rolls.

Does that you mean you get a free attack with the Thowing Shield?


Huh. That does appear to be what it says ... But that can't be right, can it? I assume they mean it's a free action to get it ready, then a standard to throw. Hmm.


That's what I thought was odd. After thinking about it, I guess if it was a free attack it would have added something like "at your highest attack bonus."

So what I am assuming is that they mean you don't need a move-equivalent action to draw it like other thrown weapons.


I just did a little looking into this out of curiosity...

What's interesting is that the Throwing Shield is found in both The Adventurer's Armory and Ultimate Combat. What's even weirder is that in Adventurer's Armory, it's described in the armor/shield section... in Ultimate Combat, it's under the Exotic Weapons section. In the SRD, you can find both versions...

The one you quoted is the exotic weapon description (from Ultimate Combat), but the armor/shield description (from Adventurer's Armory) is a little different:

Quote:

Shield, Throwing

This shield is designed for throwing and comes with specially designed straps allowing you to unclasp and throw it.

Benefit: You can throw the shield as a free action. Neither a shield’s enhancement bonus to AC nor its shield spikes apply to your attack or damage rolls.

Restriction: Tower shields cannot be throwing shields.

So from that description, it seems that throwing a throwing shield is a free action... deals 1d6 bludgeoning assuming medium, is an exotic weapon, and range increment of 20 ft.

Very odd.


And given it is at most adding 2 attack an encounter (even with returning), preventing attacks or THF before you make them, as stupid and un-RAI as it is, I'd allow it given it is an exotic weapon (thus has a feat tax).


well in theory, couldn't you also make it a quickdraw shield and have quick draw then you can throw as many as you can carry per round

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Attacking with Throwing Shield a Free Action? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.