
Jeff1964 |

Swarms take 50% more damage from splash weapons, I understand that. But since a swarm cannot be targeted by any spell or effect that targets a single creature or group of creatures, does the swarm take only the splash damage, or the direct hit damage, even though the splash weapon targets a single creature? If the direct damage does not apply, does the swarm take damage from all affected squares of the splash effect? And is this damage totaled and then multiplied by 1.5? Or is each individual square multiplied, rounded down, then added together?

![]() |

Swarms take 50% more damage from splash weapons, I understand that. But since a swarm cannot be targeted by any spell or effect that targets a single creature or group of creatures, does the swarm take only the splash damage, or the direct hit damage, even though the splash weapon targets a single creature? If the direct damage does not apply, does the swarm take damage from all affected squares of the splash effect? And is this damage totaled and then multiplied by 1.5? Or is each individual square multiplied, rounded down, then added together?
I believe (and doubtless someone will correct me if I'm wrong) that someone throwing the splash weapon would target the swarm in one square that it occupies.
For example, I target a swarm of Army Ants with acid. The swarm has AC 20. A flask of acid inflicts 1d6 damage. Suppose I hit, and roll 4 points of damage. The swarm takes 6 points of damage. If I miss, I would work out where the flask lands. If the swarm occupies a square adjacent to that square, the swarm takes 1 point of damage. Since a swarm has an AC rating, you can target the swarm in a particular square.
Some call me Tim |

You raise some interesting points, Jeff. I've always played that you can directly target a swarm with a splash weapon. It's a bit odd when you have a flying bat swarm and you supposedly hit it in mid-air with an alchemist's fire and it breaks open doing direct damage, but hey it's a magical world.
I use the line under the swarm subtype that states that it "acts as a single creature." A splash weapon is not like a spell or effect in that it does not state it affects a specific number of creatures.
So, you do direct damage to the swarm. If it also splash another square with the same swarm you don't do any additional damage, just as you would not do additional damage to a large creature.

Jeff1964 |

So, if the swarm represents a single creature in terms of splash weapons, does the splash damage extend one square all around the swarm? I know there is another thread all about large and larger creatures and splash, but would that apply to an amorphous swarm that doesn't necessarily cover a 10x10 area (if it, for example, was in the form of a 5x20 line, which is perfectly legal for swarms?)

Rathendar |

So, if the swarm represents a single creature in terms of splash weapons, does the splash damage extend one square all around the swarm? I know there is another thread all about large and larger creatures and splash, but would that apply to an amorphous swarm that doesn't necessarily cover a 10x10 area (if it, for example, was in the form of a 5x20 line, which is perfectly legal for swarms?)
What? No, you pick a single 5' square the swarm occupies as the target (and calculate range to that distance)and it splashes the ones around it.
Proposing it would gain 20' line and 15' wide splash sounds silly to me.
Jeff1964 |

I know what the normal rules are for splash weapons, but as I said, there is another thread debating whether the splash damage covers all squares surrounding a large or larger creature. If a splash weapon can cover a 15x15 creature and all squares around it, could it also cover the abovementioned 5x20 line? I'm asking opinions here, not trying to break rules.

Talonhawke |

I know what the normal rules are for splash weapons, but as I said, there is another thread debating whether the splash damage covers all squares surrounding a large or larger creature. If a splash weapon can cover a 15x15 creature and all squares around it, could it also cover the abovementioned 5x20 line? I'm asking opinions here, not trying to break rules.
It doesn't it affects the squares adjecnt to the target square. not the target creatures squares.

Jeff1964 |

Jeff1964 wrote:I know what the normal rules are for splash weapons, but as I said, there is another thread debating whether the splash damage covers all squares surrounding a large or larger creature. If a splash weapon can cover a 15x15 creature and all squares around it, could it also cover the abovementioned 5x20 line? I'm asking opinions here, not trying to break rules.It doesn't it affects the squares adjecnt to the target square. not the target creatures squares.
That's the way I would think it works. Too many debates about wording issues got me to overthinking it.