Monk of the Empty Hand and Improvised Weapons


Rules Questions

Shadow Lodge

So I've been digging around a little tonight and while I can find a number of threads on the topic of improvised weapons, there are no real definitive answers to the questions, so I'm bringing up the question again.

When a monk uses a "real" weapon as an improvised weapon in melee do any of the weapon's magical bonuses apply? Before you jump to a response, consider the variety of weapons one could be using: a longsword as a club, a bow as a quarterstaff, or an arrow as a daggery thingie (it's outlined in the weapon itself).

What if you throw the item in question rather than use it in melee?\

Can you cast magic weapon or such on the improvised weapon?

If the answer is no, then how does the Monk of the Empty Hand deal with his lack of magical bonuses to hit or damage? I realize he can always use his unarmed strike, but it strikes me as unusual that there's nothing one can do until level 12 when they can "enchant" the item with their special power.

Any advice is welcome.

Dark Archive

Of course they still count as magical. They simply just count as magical versions of the equivalent weapons they are being treated as.

Still magical, still gets the magical enhancement.

Then you have a +(Whatever) Magical improvised weapon. Just get throw anything and you are good.

Keep in mind the are proficient with ALL improvised weapons (Which basically means you are proficient with everything) and treat them as the weapon equivalents as listed normally. A MotEH could have a +3 Flaming Greatsword and still use it, it would just instead be treated as a +3 Flaming Quarterstaff in his hands.

Shadow Lodge

While I personally am in agreement from a philosophical standpoint, the bigger question is why, and how do you know this? One could argue just as vehemently that the weapon in question is absolutely not magical and simply say that since you're not using the weapon in its intended use (hitting with a bow as a staff, hitting somebody with the hilt of the sword, not needing to expend ammo when I use a magic arrow to poke somebody in the eye) that the magical bonus doesn't apply.

I guess I'm looking for a more definitive RAW answer.

Shadow Lodge

I also have a question. If using a weapon with reach, like a longspear, does it still have reach?


There was some discussion of weapons qua improvised weapons in this old thread.

My two cents:

  • As noted in the other thread, I'd allow enhancement bonuses to apply for a magical improvised weapon. Special abilities might work on a case-by-case basis (e.g. Ghost Touch = probably, Wounding = no, if you're using a spear as a bludgeon).
  • I think reach would still apply. I seem to recall somewhere discussing using a ladder as an improvised weapon, for instance.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Monk of the Empty Hand and Improvised Weapons All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions