Silence Spell


Rules Questions


When does the will save applies?

For example:
Cleric casts the silence on a stone and throws the silenced stone at the feet of a wizard?
Does the wizard get a Will save to cast a spell with verbal component?
Or he cannot cast spells with verbal component at all (until he leaves the area of the spell)?

Similar example:
Cleric casts the silence spell on a willing monk.
The monk attacks the enemy wizard and grapples him.
Does the wizard get a will save to cast a spell with verbal component?
Or are the only spells the wizard can cast in this situation silenced spells (using silent spell metamagic feat)?


To my understanding the Will save only comes if you try to cast it directly on an unwilling target.


Goran Vukić wrote:
Does the wizard get a Will save to cast a spell with verbal component?

No.

Quote:
Or he cannot cast spells with verbal component at all (until he leaves the area of the spell)?

He cannot.

Quote:
Does the wizard get a will save to cast a spell with verbal component?

No.

Quote:
Or are the only spells the wizard can cast in this situation silenced spells (using silent spell metamagic feat)?

Or spells without verbal components (gaseous form).


Thanks for the info!

Our group always gave the spellcaster a will save, fearing misuse of the silence spell.
We used the spell mostly for sneaking and secrecy.


With the rounds/level duration, it's not that useful for sneaking anymore. It was great for sneaking in 3.5, when it was minutes/level. My group discovered this after trying to use Silence to sneak into a fortified castle. Thirty seconds (in-game) after we cast it, the GM let us know that we were making noise again.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Silence Spell All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.