| Ravingdork |
The Spell Specialization feat says the following: Select one spell of a school for which you have taken the Spell Focus feat.
It also says the following: Every time you gain an even level in the spellcasting class you chose your spell from, you can choose a new spell to replace the spell selected with this feat, and that spell becomes your specialized spell.
I see nothing that prevents the new spell choice from having to belong to the same school of magic as the first.
Do you think that is a legitimate RAW reading of this feat?
| Ravingdork |
Doesnt really work as the feat becomes (written to prevent any ambiguity)
Spell Specialization : Evocation (Spell name)
Please show me where the feat is written like that. I don't see any point to that format as the school choice would be clarified already by another feat.
If you're switching schools where you have school focus in both it seems a bit against rai but legal.
If you're switching to a spell you don't have school focus at all...
Most definitely the latter, though I don't see how the former could be disputed under either interpretation.
...you've gone into all out rules lawyering.
Yes, most probably.
| wraithstrike |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
The Spell Specialization feat says the following: Select one spell of a school for which you have taken the Spell Focus feat.
It also says the following: Every time you gain an even level in the spellcasting class you chose your spell from, you can choose a new spell to replace the spell selected with this feat, and that spell becomes your specialized spell.
I see nothing that prevents the new spell choice from having to belong to the same school of magic as the first.
Do you think that is a legitimate RAW reading of this feat?
Another nice find. I am sure you know the intent of this rule, but I do admit the RAW is weak if you want to read it in the most literal sense, but just because the spell is new, that does not mean it gets to invalidate the first line either which says it must be from a certain school.
I do think this is one that is clear enough that I would not even bother FAQ'ing it.
Another example of what you are suggesting:
Upon reaching 4th level, and at every even-numbered sorcerer level after that (6th, 8th, and so on), a sorcerer can choose to learn a new spell in place of one she already knows. In effect, the sorcerer loses the old spell in exchange for the new one. The new spell's level must be the same as that of the spell being exchanged. A sorcerer may swap only a single spell at any given level, and must choose whether or not to swap the spell at the same time that she gains new spells known for the level.
Unlike a wizard or a cleric, a sorcerer need not prepare her spells in advance. She can cast any spell she knows at any time, assuming she has not yet used up her spells per day for that spell level.
At no point does it say the new spell has to come from the sorcerer's spell list.
edit:I don't know whether to be ashamed or proud that I thought of looking for that in about 10 seconds.
| Neo2151 |
No offense intended, but questions like these make me cry on the inside.
RAI is clearly obvious, and wraithstrike's example makes that perfectly clear. And yet, nitpicking over EXACT wording still happens.
You're supposed to use common sense for things where they word it well enough, but could word it better. Anything else is just gaming the system.
Magicdealer
|
Honestly, I'd just go with the standard *if you lose the prerequisites of the feat, you can't use the feat* line for this. If you change the spell to a different school, you no longer have the prerequisites listed in the feat.
Or, since that's a bit weak, the alternative that nothing in the second paragraph overrides this part of the first paragraph: Select one spell of a school for which you have taken the Spell Focus feat.
Mike Kimmel
Developer
|
I don't see why you wouldn't be able to, as long as you also had Spell Focus of the second (new) spell's school. I don't even think it would be against RAI. You don't take Spell Specialization (evocation). You take Spell Specialization (magic missile), which turns into Spell Specialization (silent image) as easily as it turns into Spell Specialization (shocking grasp). That would be my ruling, anyway, as long as you had the proper Spell Focus feat(s).
| sanguine |
If you don't have spell focus for the school of the newly chosen spell, the feat should become inactive as it does not meet the prerequisites for the feat.
Basically, you check whether you meet the feat's prerequisites when you try to use the feat. You don't meet them? Then no feat for you!
Should you pick up Spell focus for the spell's school at a later date, the feat should become active once again.
DarkLightHitomi
|
Ravingdork wrote:The Spell Specialization feat says the following: Select one spell of a school for which you have taken the Spell Focus feat.
It also says the following: Every time you gain an even level in the spellcasting class you chose your spell from, you can choose a new spell to replace the spell selected with this feat, and that spell becomes your specialized spell.
I see nothing that prevents the new spell choice from having to belong to the same school of magic as the first.
Do you think that is a legitimate RAW reading of this feat?
Another nice find. I am sure you know the intent of this rule, but I do admit the RAW is weak if you want to read it in the most literal sense, but just because the spell is new, that does not mean it gets to invalidate the first line either which says it must be from a certain school.
I do think this is one that is clear enough that I would not even bother FAQ'ing it.
Another example of what you are suggesting:
prd/sorcerer wrote:Upon reaching 4th level, and at every even-numbered sorcerer level after that (6th, 8th, and so on), a sorcerer can choose to learn a new spell in place of one she already knows. In effect, the sorcerer loses the old spell in exchange for the new one. The new spell's level must be the same as that of the spell being exchanged. A sorcerer may swap only a single spell at any given level, and must choose whether or not to swap the spell at the same time that she gains new spells known for the level.
Unlike a wizard or a cleric, a sorcerer need not prepare her spells in advance. She can cast any spell she knows at any time, assuming she has not yet used up her spells per day for that spell level.
At no point does it say the new spell has to come from the sorcerer's spell list.
edit:I don't know whether to be ashamed or proud that I thought of looking for that in about 10 seconds.
First, I think any new spell can be chosen as long as it doesn't violate the first line which is explicitly stated.
Second, sorcerers and learned spells. 3.5 had better wording on this saying that you had to gain an understanding of it and the example clearly stated that arcane sources could be learned from(true it doesn't deny divine but by being explicit with arcane indicates that divine may not be RAI) I see no reason to believe that the devs have any other intent then their inspirational source.