Wrath runelord vengeful glare


Rules Discussion


Here is the description:

« Your gaze falls on a creature, filled with icy vengeance or fiery wrath. The gaze deals 1d4 damage (basic Fortitude save). It deals your choice of cold damage or fire damage and gains the appropriate trait. If you already dealt damage to the creature earlier this turn, it also takes 1 persistent damage of the gaze’s type. »

RAW, it seems the persistent damage doesn’t offer a save and as such cannot crit not be reduced. It just happens.

Is it your interpretation as well ?


That is indeed what im seeing from it.

The save is for the initial damage but the persistent happens regardless. No further requirements such as "if the spell dealt damage" or "if the target fails its save"


That is what it says, yeah. If you meet the condition, the persistent damage happens no matter what.

This is a lot like Interstellar Void's Fatigued condition which happens even if you crit succeed the save (much to my GM's chagrin).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Wrath runelord vengeful glare All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Discussion