Lizardfolk Bone Magic


Rules Discussion


So Bone Magic states that you pick an Occult or Primal cantrip as an innate spell that you can cast at will. Does this mean I can cast it an unlimited amount of times?


Yes, because it's a Cantrip; they don't spend slots so are unlimited w/ a few exceptions which are explicit. Plus "at will" also means unlimited.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Note that you must still expend the action cost.

I've had a few players over the years equate at-will with "free action," which isn't the case.

Cantrips and focus spells are nice because their spell rank usually scales with your class level. So if you're a 7th-level ranger, for example, your cantrip(s)/focus spells will be 3rd rank.

The calculation to determine spell rank for cantrips is simply half your level, round up.

Spells that are not cantrips or focus spells--generally those from your spell slots, scrolls, or staves--generally do not rank up in this fashion.

A 3rd-rank lightning bolt will always be 3rd-rank if cast from a 3rd-level slot. It will remain 3rd-rank even if cast from a 4th- or 5th-rank slot, unless you're a prepared caster such as a cleric, druid, witch, or wizard.

I hope that helps!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Lizardfolk Bone Magic All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.