|
So if a friend of mine is a high enough Summoner with say a Wizard dedication, can they use the Master Summoner feat to designate one of their Wizard spell slots as two Summon Spells of the same rank?
Wording of Master Summoner copied and pasted from AoN:
Feat 6: During daily preparations, you can designate one of your spell slots to become two summoning slots of the same spell level, from which you can cast only summoning or incarnate spells.
Has there been a ruling about this and I missed it? I couldn't find anything when I did a search. In the home game I am currently running I said no, it felt too much like the Warlock cheese from 5e, but now we're both curious if this is allowed in PFS...
|
I imagine the intent would be that you dedicate one of your summoner spell slots, but technically speaking the feat doesn't restrict your choice.
Choosing a wizard slot for it would probably not be advised, though. That's a sixth level feat. Your wizard dedication would grant you (with basic spellcasting benefit) second rank spells. Second rank summon spell summons a first level creature. That's 5 levels below yours. At level 8, you can cast 3rd rank spells, so that's level 2 creature, 6 levels below you. Next boost would be at level 12, casting rank 4 spell, for a 3rd level creature - 9 levels below you.
Even if it's probably not the intent, it seems pretty safe to allow a character to split their archetype slots for summon spells - summons are already way below you in terms of power, and this makes them even weaker.
|
The thought was something along the lines of having access to some extra spells like Heal through Summon Lesser Servitor for a Lantern Archon or something else. I personally agree that summon spells should always use the highest slot possible, but sometimes you just need access to a specific spell and in that case you can use the lowest slot that gives you access to that spell.