Phase familiar reaction and the once per round hex limitation


Rules Discussion


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

How does the phase familiar focus spell interact with the once per round hex limitation, since it is generally cast in between turns?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

In PC1 the rules for hex spells in the witch class section says, "as such, you can use only one hex each turn, and any attempts to use a second hex on that turn fail and the actions are lost."

Then under hex cantrips it says, "so you can cast them as often as you like, though you can still use only one hex each round."

Which is it, turn or round? Incidentally it's the same wording as it was premaster

We have conflicting terminology in their descriptions of the limitation on hex castings that makes this class feature reaction (every witch gets this or patron's puppet) borderline unusable

I would allow phase familiar to exceed the "one hex per round" limitation mentioned in hex _cantrips_ because the primary hex _spells_ rule says "turn" and the hex cantrips rule is written as if it's a callback to the hex spells rule. Or you can rationalize "once per round" as a limitation on hex cantrips specifically even though it says "still." Whatever you like. Fundamentally for me it's just feelsbadman to say "you have all these cool spells you can use but nah, you gotta save that hex casting every round in case your familiar gets targeted." That's just bad design and I don't believe it was what was intended by the limit


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I'm sorry to read that it's less than clear. Thank you for the info. I will likely rule similarly in my own games. I just hope my local PFS GMs will feel the same.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Phase familiar reaction and the once per round hex limitation All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.