Spell Combination Questions?


Rules Discussion


Questions about Spell Combination

1. What is the counteract level/rank of the combined spell? Is it the counteract level of the slot used? The comprising spells? Can a creature trying to Counterspell the combined spell only pick one spell to counteract?

2. Does the incapacitation trait of a spell in a combination use the level of the spell slot or the level of the comprising incapacitation spell?

3. What actions does the combination require?

4. What spell components does the combination require? (This will be a moot point soon.)


1. It the counteract level of the slot used, because that's the slot which was used. A creature trying to Counterspell the combined spell can't only pick one spell to counteract, because there is only one spell now - the combined one. And why would it want that?
2. It the counteract level of the slot used, because that's the slot which was used.
3. "If any spell in the combination has further restrictions (such as targeting only living creatures), you must abide by all restrictions." So the maximum number of actions of the two spells.
4. "If any spell in the combination has further restrictions (such as targeting only living creatures), you must abide by all restrictions." So all of the components of the two spells.


Errenor wrote:

1. It the counteract level of the slot used, because that's the slot which was used. A creature trying to Counterspell the combined spell can't only pick one spell to counteract, because there is only one spell now - the combined one. And why would it want that?

2. It the counteract level of the slot used, because that's the slot which was used.
3. "If any spell in the combination has further restrictions (such as targeting only living creatures), you must abide by all restrictions." So the maximum number of actions of the two spells.
4. "If any spell in the combination has further restrictions (such as targeting only living creatures), you must abide by all restrictions." So all of the components of the two spells.

1. So does that mean a creature can only Counterspell a combined spell if they have the same combined spell in one of their slots?

2. So if I put two magic missile spells in my 9th level slot, they both hit like 7th level magic missile spells, but if I put baleful polymorph and feeblemind in the same slot, they're both effectively 9th level spells?


SuperParkourio wrote:
Errenor wrote:

1. It the counteract level of the slot used, because that's the slot which was used. A creature trying to Counterspell the combined spell can't only pick one spell to counteract, because there is only one spell now - the combined one. And why would it want that?

2. It the counteract level of the slot used, because that's the slot which was used.
3. "If any spell in the combination has further restrictions (such as targeting only living creatures), you must abide by all restrictions." So the maximum number of actions of the two spells.
4. "If any spell in the combination has further restrictions (such as targeting only living creatures), you must abide by all restrictions." So all of the components of the two spells.

1. So does that mean a creature can only Counterspell a combined spell if they have the same combined spell in one of their slots?

2. So if I put two magic missile spells in my 9th level slot, they both hit like 7th level magic missile spells, but if I put baleful polymorph and feeblemind in the same slot, they're both effectively 9th level spells?

1. If they have some ability which helps with counterspelling, maybe not. Otherwise it's basically a new spell. It's a 20th level feat, I don't really see anything wrong with it.

2. You did spent a 9th rank slot. And that is what the feat does. So, yes. But, no, you can't combine baleful polymorph and feeblemind, they have different saves.

"Resolve a combined spell as if were a single spell, but apply the effects of both component spells."

Though what I'm saying is mostly my judgement. I admit someone else could rule differently. You have the same text as I do. I just try to extrapolate what we already know about this in common rules and combine it with what one of the wizard's greatest feats does by the description.


Right, I'm used to 5e polymorph being a Wisdom save.

I probably would run the incapacication parts as 2 levels lower than the slot, though. I worry that letting the incapacication component spells effectively be the level of the slot is too powerful an interpretation. The effect of the combined spell is that of 2 lower level effects, and it seems to be those lower level effects that have the incapacitation trait rather than the combined spell. On the other hand, there's little point in using incapacication spells that aren't of the highest level one can cast.


SuperParkourio wrote:
I worry that letting the incapacication component spells effectively be the level of the slot is too powerful an interpretation. The effect of the combined spell is that of 2 lower level effects, and it seems to be those lower level effects that have the incapacitation trait rather than the combined spell. On the other hand, there's little point in using incapacication spells that aren't of the highest level one can cast.

Don't worry. That's not really an interpretation - you spend 9th rank slot - you get 9th rank spell. It's that simple. Unless it's written otherwise which it isn't. Also there's no 'low-level effects' anymore, there's one single combined effect for which the restrictions also 'stack' while choosing the worst. And 'incapacitate' is one single binary (yes or no) trait.


Errenor wrote:
SuperParkourio wrote:
I worry that letting the incapacication component spells effectively be the level of the slot is too powerful an interpretation. The effect of the combined spell is that of 2 lower level effects, and it seems to be those lower level effects that have the incapacitation trait rather than the combined spell. On the other hand, there's little point in using incapacication spells that aren't of the highest level one can cast.
Don't worry. That's not really an interpretation - you spend 9th rank slot - you get 9th rank spell. It's that simple. Unless it's written otherwise which it isn't. Also there's no 'low-level effects' anymore, there's one single combined effect for which the restrictions also 'stack' while choosing the worst. And 'incapacitate' is one single binary (yes or no) trait.

"Each spell in the combination must be 2 or more spell levels below the slot’s level, and both must target only one creature or object or have the option to target only one creature or object."

I thought this was the effect writing otherwise. Are you saying only the base level of the spell itself needs to be 2 or more levels lower? In that case, the two magic missiles in the 9th level slot would be heightened to 9th level rather than 7th. Yikes!


I think they're two levels lower for all purposes, including counter spelling and heightening (including incapacitation value).

The point of spellcombination is not to boost up those individual lower spells in any way, it's a way to get extra effects crammed into one slot for total damage purposes (if you put two 7th level Magic Missiles in a 9th slot, it's the equivalent of a single 15th level Magic Missile in damage, woo hoo!) and/or save actions in a better way than Quicken Spell. Great for non-incapcitation single target double debuffs, or to boost a single target damage blast, or to quickly double buff yourself or an ally.

That's more than enough.


Xenocrat wrote:
I think they're two levels lower for all purposes, including counter spelling and heightening (including incapacitation value).

Are you proposing that the individual component spells can be Counterspelled?


SuperParkourio wrote:
Errenor wrote:
SuperParkourio wrote:
I worry that letting the incapacication component spells effectively be the level of the slot is too powerful an interpretation. The effect of the combined spell is that of 2 lower level effects, and it seems to be those lower level effects that have the incapacitation trait rather than the combined spell. On the other hand, there's little point in using incapacication spells that aren't of the highest level one can cast.
Don't worry. That's not really an interpretation - you spend 9th rank slot - you get 9th rank spell. It's that simple. Unless it's written otherwise which it isn't. Also there's no 'low-level effects' anymore, there's one single combined effect for which the restrictions also 'stack' while choosing the worst. And 'incapacitate' is one single binary (yes or no) trait.

"Each spell in the combination must be 2 or more spell levels below the slot’s level, and both must target only one creature or object or have the option to target only one creature or object."

I thought this was the effect writing otherwise. Are you saying only the base level of the spell itself needs to be 2 or more levels lower? In that case, the two magic missiles in the 9th level slot would be heightened to 9th level rather than 7th. Yikes!

I did not say that. Each spell (which in fact means each part of the combined effect) in combo is 2 or more spell ranks below the slot’s rank. And the combo itself is 9th rank. The effect definitely does not write otherwise. It writes of its parts, not the result.

Although it does not write that the rank of the result is the rank of the slot either, but that does not have to be written - it's the default. Unless written otherwise the rank is the rank of the slot.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

I am pretty ok with it being nearly impossible to counter spells cast as a result of a level 20 feat. Spell combination spells should count as a unique spell and be treated as being the rank of the spell slot used to cast the spell, not the component spells for counter-spelling and dispelling for sure.
I think the incapacitation issue is potentially a little different. GMs should think about their decisions. I am probably ok with letting the component spells count as the spell slot rank for incapacitation, but that does have some pretty heavy whammy potential and completely invalidates casting incapacitation spells just heightened regularly, since most of them don't really heighten except by interacting with the incapacitation trait. At the same time, that basically means those spells are useless to use with combine spell so it is something to talk to your players about for sure.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Spell Combination Questions? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Discussion