Suffocation: Talking and when to start making saves


Rules Discussion


If I Cast a Spell with verbal components, I lose all remaining air. Do I still get to cast the spell?

Also, if I end my turn and my remaining air drops from 1 to 0, do I need to make the save vs instant death immediately because it's the end of my turn, or do I start at the end of my next turn?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I'm assuming that this is regarding pre-Remaster rules. Since you are referencing verbal components.

SuperParkourio wrote:
If I Cast a Spell with verbal components, I lose all remaining air. Do I still get to cast the spell?

I would hope so. Otherwise learning, preparing, and casting Air Bubble wouldn't be very effective.

SuperParkourio wrote:
Also, if I end my turn and my remaining air drops from 1 to 0, do I need to make the save vs instant death immediately because it's the end of my turn, or do I start at the end of my next turn?

You would need to make your first save at the end of your turn when your air level ticks down to zero.

It isn't necessarily instant death though. It's not even a flat check. It is a Fortitude save with a fixed DC of 20 (initially, anyway). So by level 3-5 that is going to be very easy to succeed at. And even at level 1 it is difficult to critically fail at.

So it will likely take you a couple of rounds to actually die from drowning once you run out of air.


I am playing a game where another player's character is swallowed by a giant worm. The player wanted to cast translocate to teleport out but the GM told him he would lose all air instantly and the spell wouldn't go off.

https://2e.aonprd.com/Rules.aspx?ID=2439&Redirected=1
It says, "If you speak (including Casting a Spell) you lose all remaining air."

You lose all remaining air, but is it in an instant effect and prevent the spell from going off? I thought the 50/50 compromise would he would lose all air and the spell would go off. I don't know I guess it could go either way.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Your GM is being needlessly punitive. Point them at breith's comment above. If losing all your air upon Casting a Spell cancelled the spell, Air Bubble wouldn't work


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Saying: "You have the option to do this, but it doesn't work and you die" isn't good ruling.


RAW you lose all air and the spell wouldn't go off.

Air bubble is an edge case because it is a reaction but RAW you will still fall unconscious before the spell went off (keep in mind the spell is not rendered useless by this, it is most often used for allies anyway)

The subtle trait removes the need for incantations so conceal spell spellshaping lets you cast while suffocating.

As for my own ruling, I would allow reactions triggered by the person starting to suffocate to go succeed but still have the person fall unconscious and start dying if it didn't give them air like airbubble does.

All other spells I run as per RAW, if it doesn't have the subtle trait they aren't being cast unless the player wants to try for RP reasons.


3 people marked this as a favorite.

>RAW you lose all air and the spell wouldn't go off.
That is not what is written

It says, "If you speak (including Casting a Spell) you lose all remaining air." Not, "if you BEGIN speaking, (including BEGIN Casting a Spell)"

It says nothing about disrupting the spell. You can speak, including casting a spell, before losing all your air. THAT is why Air Bubble works, not because of some MtG style stack timing

Grand Lodge

2 people marked this as a favorite.

If it didn't work, it would say you can't do it rather than that you lose your air for doing it.
If the cost prevented it from working, then it isn't a functional cost and it's pointless to say it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Suffocation: Talking and when to start making saves All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.