Does Composite Longbow count as Longbow for traits and favored weapons?


Pathfinder Society


I am reviewing the characters in my PFS game and I found one of my players tried to apply the effect of Deadeye Bowman traits for a composite longbow. He also mentioned that he wants to get Sentinel prestige class of Erastil. Personally, I would not be against this interpretation but I need a consensus for the PFS game.

Equiptment - Composite longbow wrote:

For the purposes of Weapon Proficiency and similar feats, a composite longbow is treated as if it were a longbow.

Trait - Deadeye Bowman wrote:

When you are using a longbow, if only a single creature is providing soft cover to your target, your target does not receive the +4 bonus to AC.

Prestige - Sentinel wrote:

Symbolic Weapon (Su): When wielding his deity’s favored weapon, the sentinel gains a +1 sacred or profane bonus on attack and damage rolls. These bonuses increase by 1 for every 3 levels he has in the sentinel prestige class (maximum +4). His deity’s favored weapon also functions as a holy (or unholy) symbol when wielded by a sentinel.

Any thought?

4/5 ****

1 person marked this as a favorite.

PFS doesn't issue rulings for core issues.

You're not going to get anything official here. That said I think it should apply but the language is unclear, ask your GM.

Amusingly enough PF2 has solved this problem

PF2 Longbow wrote:
Any time an ability is specifically restricted to a longbow, such as Erastil’s favored weapon, it also applies to composite longbows unless otherwise stated.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Does Composite Longbow count as Longbow for traits and favored weapons? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Society