Can incorporeal creatures occupy the same tile as a corporeal creature?


Rules Discussion


The Incorporeal trait states

Quote:
Corporeal creatures can pass through an incorporeal creature, but they can’t end their movement in its space.

but says nothing about the inverse.

Is this possible?

What if the creature who's space it wants to occupy is paralyzed? Does that affect anything? I know in 1E helpless creatures didn't provide an obstruction to incorporeal creatures ending their turn there.

If incorporeal creatures are able to end in a corporeal creature's square, what happens during the corporeal creature's end of turn (the room is perfectly sized for the party, there's not much height to the ceiling, and the doors at either end of the room have been secured)? Does it clip repeatedly with the ghost and then rocket off into the next plane?


jcheung wrote:

The Incorporeal trait states

Quote:
Corporeal creatures can pass through an incorporeal creature, but they can’t end their movement in its space.

but says nothing about the inverse.

Is this possible?

I wouldn't allow it, mostly because of what you mention later - that when it becomes the corporeal creature's turn, their position is invalid. And having the rule be symmetric makes more sense anyway.

The rest of your questions are probably answered by the Moving through a creature's space rules.

Prone creatures are able to be trodden on.

If a creature is paralyzed or petrified, it probably counts like the statue, so you would follow the Object rule and the GM would have to make the call on the fly.

And if both of those work for two corporeal creatures, it should work fine if one of them is incorporeal too.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Can incorporeal creatures occupy the same tile as a corporeal creature? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.