Full movement and a spell question


Rules Discussion

Liberty's Edge

Hello everyone,

I wanted to clarify how this might work when someone moves at their full speed and then casts a spell. Is it allowed? Are there any restrictions?

I look forward to your responses,

Arbarth


Everyone gets 3 actions on their turn unless something modifies that. A Stride (standard movement) is a single action. A standard spell takes 2 actions. So 1 action to move and 2 remaining for a spell. So yes, you absolutely can as long as the spell doesn’t require all three of your actions.


Also, when not in combat there are the Exploration activities for Sustain a Spell and Cast a Spell Repeatedly. Those should let you keep up with the group as long as they are going at half pace - such as if someone is investigating for traps or secrets. If the rest of the group is using Hustle, then you won't have time to cast a spell and keep up.

Liberty's Edge

Thank you, Lucerious and Breithauptclan this information helps.

Arbarth

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Full movement and a spell question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.