RAW Question on Quick Alchemy and Elixirs / Mutagens duration..


Advice


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

Hi y’all

I am playing an Alchemist and a question came up during our last session.

The Quick Alchemy action says the item it creates ‘ has the infused trait, but it remains potent only until the start of your next turn’.

So if I use Quick Alchemy to create a mutagen or elixir with an effect that lasts for 1 minute like a lesser bestial mutagen, does it end at the end of my turn or does it keep its effects as normal and I get until the end of my turn to drink it? I imagine the correct answer should be the second, but is there any rule that supports this interpretation? My GM said they’re okay with ruling it this way but would like to know if there is any specific text in the rules…

Liberty's Edge

The potency only matters until you Activate the Alchemical item.

As soon as you Activate it you generate the effect and it is consumed meaning the Alchemical Item no longer exists at all, only the consequences of your use of it which are unchanged by the way it was created.

So, if you drink it during the noted window you are good to go, the same thing applies to Quick Alchemy when using Poisons too, any other interpretation is just way WAY too bad to have not been caught/changed in the multiple rounds of Errata Paizo already pushed to help fix the problems with the 1.0 version of the Class.


Yeah. There is no way it would be playable with anything other than bombs if quick alchemy was intended that the effects of the item stop at the end of the round.

You are already spending one action on quick alchemy, one action drinking the mutagen, and only have one action left for that round...

A mutagen that lasts one action??

Nah. Too bad to be true.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Advice / RAW Question on Quick Alchemy and Elixirs / Mutagens duration.. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Advice