Flurry of Blow and two-handed weapons


Rules Questions


Hi
Is it possible to do all attacks of FoB with a monk's two-handed weapon (quarterstaff)? I can't find a clear answer on the forums.
Thanks.


You can make them all with your unarmed attacks or with a special monk weapon.

FAQ wrote:

Monk Flurry of Blows: When I use flurry of blows, can I make all of the attacks with just one weapon, or do I have to use two, as implied by the ability functioning similarly to Two-Weapon Fighting?

You can make all of your attacks with a single monk weapon. Alternatively, you can replace any number of these attacks with an unarmed strike. This FAQ specifically changes a previous ruling made in the blog concerning this issue.

Source


sirmaniak wrote:
Is it possible to do all attacks of FoB with a monk's two-handed weapon (quarterstaff)? I can't find a clear answer on the forums.

Sure, why wouldn't you? In Pathfinder you can only do what a rule allows you, but all restrictions to things allowed have also be spelled out in rules. In this case, the rules say "These attacks can be any combination of unarmed strikes and attacks with a monk special weapon (he does not need to use two weapons to utilize this ability)." (for core Monk) or "When using this ability, the monk can make these attacks with any combination of his unarmed strikes and weapons that have the monk special weapon quality." (for unchained Monk). There is no mention of hands used, and thus the rules don't care about hands used.

The core Monk's FoB description actually answers your question, which is probably why you didn't find an answer on the forums: "A monk applies his full Strength bonus to his damage rolls for all successful attacks made with flurry of blows, whether the attacks are made with an off-hand or with a weapon wielded in both hands." It wouldn't give rules for "weapon wielded in both hands" if you couldn't attack with one!

I assume you were confused by cFlurry's mention of TWF, but you can completely ignore that part - it is a relict of past rules that were long since changed. Flurry of Blows has absolutely zero relation to TWF.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Flurry of Blow and two-handed weapons All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.