Take Control if there's already a pilot?


Rules Discussion


The Take Control action states that you only have to be adjacent to the controls and suceed at a Piloting check in order to "become the vehicle's pilot". It does not seem to require or mention that there must not be an existing pilot, so fighting over a vehicle's controls is remarkably easy, and you can drive a vehicle at double speed by constantly swapping the controls. Is this intended?

In addition, if you fail the piloting check, does the vehicle still become uncontrolled even though you were not successful at becoming the pilot?


hyphz wrote:

The Take Control action states that you only have to be adjacent to the controls and suceed at a Piloting check in order to "become the vehicle's pilot". It does not seem to require or mention that there must not be an existing pilot, so fighting over a vehicle's controls is remarkably easy, and you can drive a vehicle at double speed by constantly swapping the controls. Is this intended?

In addition, if you fail the piloting check, does the vehicle still become uncontrolled even though you were not successful at becoming the pilot?

Piloting a Vehicle

Source Gamemastery Guide pg. 175
In encounter mode, a vehicle moves on its pilot’s turn, and the pilot must use their actions to control it. A vehicle can take part in only 1 move action each round, even if multiple creatures Take Control as pilots on the same round.

I'm not seeing anything that says a vehicle becomes uncontrolled on a failed Take Control check if it was already being piloted by someone else


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

The vehicle rules one page 175 say "A vehicle can take part in only 1 move action each round, even if multiple creatures Take Control as pilots on the same round."


Oops. Ok, thanks. But you can still wrest control from an unwilling pilot with no more difficulty than a regular one?


Starfinder's Take Control action has the requirement that the vehicle is uncontrolled.

But Pathfinder2's Take Control only requires that you are adjacent to the controls.

Maybe the GM could rule that only one creature can be adjacent to the controls at a time, so the second character that is trying to wrest control would have to first shove the current pilot out of position.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Take Control if there's already a pilot? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.