Full Round Action and a 5' Step?


Rules Questions


This statement has me wracking my brain trying to figure it out.

Full-Round Actions
A full-round action requires an entire round to complete. Thus, it can’t be coupled with a standard or a move action, though if it does not involve moving any distance, you can take a 5-foot step.

What kind of 5-foot step doesn't involve movement?


What they are talking about is if the full round action does not involve movement, you can take a 5 foot step as part of that full-round action. Some full-round actions like charge do involve movement. So you cannot take a 5 foot step when you are charging. Making a full attack with a weapon does not involve movement so you can take a 5 foot step when making a full attack.

The Exchange

A sentence with many commas and pronouns can make it easy to lose track of what is being referenced. Replace the personal pronoun "it" with the antecedent "full-round action" throughout the sentence for simplified comprehension.

Quote:
A full-round action requires an entire round to complete. Thus, a full-round action can’t be coupled with a standard or a move action, though if the full-round action does not involve moving any distance, you can take a 5-foot step.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Full Round Action and a 5' Step? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.