
shibbolethed |

My Lodge have some argue about whether the PFS character will be frozen during a Campaign,now we have some questions :
1、When we play in a Campaign Mode, Should I select beneficiary and frozen this character before we start this Campaign? (That means the character can't join another PFS game until the Campaign end)
Or just select the beneficiary after finishing the Campaign, I can immediately applying the credit to my PFS character at any order?
2、When I used pregenerated character represent my PFS character (XXXXX-2) during a s session ,can I use that character (XXXXX-2) to play another game when the pregenerated character still in the adventure ? I know it maybe break the rule about the ONE CHARACTER PER ADVENTURE. But If I can't,it whether means that the Campaign Mode will be tied up a pfs character?
Thanks for answer!

![]() |

shibbolethed is a friend of mine. Actually, It's me who have disagreement with another friend (also a GM) in our group. shibbolethed wanna stop the argue, so he ask the questions for us. Appropriate.
btw, on the 2nd question, I insist when the pregenerated character is frozen in a multi-session adventure, the character who will receive the Chronicle sheet can play another game as well.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
2 people marked this as a favorite. |

If you are playing Campaign Mode, you are playing using characters that are NOT PFS characters. The only interface with PFS is that when you complete each book, the GM can hand out the appropriate chronicle sheet. You can assign that chronicle to any of your PFS characters who is of the appropriate level. You don't have to choose which one until the instant the chronicle is handed out, and you can choose a different one each time you get a chronicle, so no characters are "frozen."
If you are playing in Event Mode, then you ARE using a PFS character. In that case your character can't play in another PFS game until you finish the sections that Event Mode covers and get a chronicle.
For question 2 there is not a clear answer. I would say no, you can't play another scenario with the character who is getting the chronicle. Because otherwise the "Resolving Conditions" section gets really messy. But again, that's my opinion.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

To reiterate, even though Belafon did a great job of explaining, the only connection between pfs and an adventure played in campaign mode is the instantaneous point at which the chronicle(s) is(are) applied to the pfs character.
Campaign mode has no effect on pfs characters, except for the instantaneous moments in which chronicles are applied.
So...
1) In each moment in which chronicles are applied, you decide at that moment which character they will be applied to. NOTE:The character receiving the credit cannot be a higher level than the chronicle allows (i.e. a level 6 character cannot receive credit from a level 1-2 chronicle/adventure).
2) Pregenerated characters (like lvl 4 Kyra), are not "the same character". They are considered completely different. For example, you could have a 6 person table, with each person playing a lvl 4 Kyra pregen. So, from game to game, they are also different.
That said, the character number can matter if the character number is playing through a prolonged society adventure. If character number X is going through a scenario or adventure in 'society mode', X cannot be played in another scenario or adventure in 'society mode' until the previous scenario or adventure in 'society mode' has finished. If playing an adventure in campaign mode and applying the credit to character X, the adventure has absolutely no effect on character X except when applying the credit to X.

![]() |

If you are playing Campaign Mode, you are playing using characters that are NOT PFS characters. The only interface with PFS is that when you complete each book, the GM can hand out the appropriate chronicle sheet. You can assign that chronicle to any of your PFS characters who is of the appropriate level. You don't have to choose which one until the instant the chronicle is handed out, and you can choose a different one each time you get a chronicle, so no characters are "frozen."
If you are playing in Event Mode, then you ARE using a PFS character. In that case your character can't play in another PFS game until you finish the sections that Event Mode covers and get a chronicle.
For question 2 there is not a clear answer. I would say no, you can't play another scenario with the character who is getting the chronicle. Because otherwise the "Resolving Conditions" section gets really messy. But again, that's my opinion.
A little confusing, paragraph 1 and para.3 seems conflict.
Firstly, it's s all in Campagin mode.
Para.1 states, I can choose which character after the chronicle is handed out. So, actully, there is no "character who is getting the chronicle", it's not decided. I can use any PFS character to play PFS scenarios at that time, right?
Expect for this, I agree with all you and Leomund said. Pregenerated characters and PFS character (who will receive the chronicle) is different character. Applying chronicle is in a instantaneous moments, except for that moment, they have no interaction.
btw, It's keen that Leomund recognized the focus is the moment of applying

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

If you are playing in Campaign Mode, you character being pregenerated does not mean anything except that you allowed someone else to generate them. They are not beholden to any PFS rules at that point.
Simply put, in Campaign Mode your character is completely separate from your PFS character. In Event Mode, your character is NOT separate.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

In addition to what everyone else said,
When you sign up for a game in Event Mode, you are signing in at the beginning with a character #. Regardless of whether you're playing a Pregen, or your actual character, that character # cannot be signed up for another Event Mode game.
So if you signed up your 12345-67 to play #11-01: The Season that Never Happened via PbP, you couldn't also sign up that character number, using a Pregen, for #11-02: The Sequel that Never Happened.
And if said character was in the middle of one of those games, and you then applied Campaign Mode credit to them, that credit gets put on hold until after you receive the Chronicle for the Event Mode game.

![]() |

And if said character was in the middle of one of those games (Event Mode), and you then applied Campaign Mode credit to them, that credit gets put on hold until after you receive the Chronicle for the Event Mode game.
The situation come up to us. A PC is locked in a scenario which will be completed tomorrow, while his player complete a Campaign Mode tonight and wants to apply the chronicle to the locked PC. According to your statement, He can do such way, right? the scenario credit (tomorrow) goes first, then the Campaign Mode credit (today).