Fused Staff and Spellhearts


Rules Discussion


Fused Staff combines a Stave and a Weapon in such a way that you can use the Stave to cast spells for the purposes of Spellstrike.

Let's say that you have a Spellheart, any random one really, on a Stave. You then use Fused Staff to fuse said Stave into your weapon which also happens to have a different Spellheart attached.

Is there anything stopping you from casting either Spellheart cantrip from your weapon? Would you need to shift the weapon to Stave form to benefit from the Staves Spellheart? If you are allowed to cast the Stave spellheart from the weapon, does the weapon gain the spellheart bonus effect?

At first blush, I say no since in theory, the spellheart "merges" with the weapon in the same way that the Stave does. It also feels like one of those unintended consequences and almost "too good to be true." Almost.

On second thought, it does give an Inexorable Iron Magus a method for benefiting from two weapon spellhearts as if they were dual wielding instead, something that other characters can already do.

Thoughts?

Liberty's Edge

The Staff in Fused Staff is a magic item but not a weapon. I do not know if there is a spellheart that you can affix to such an item that is neither weapon nor armor.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
The Raven Black wrote:
The Staff in Fused Staff is a magic item but not a weapon. I do not know if there is a spellheart that you can affix to such an item that is neither weapon nor armor.

Staves are Staff weapons. All staves are "Specific Magic Weapons".

"Attacking with a Staff"

Liberty's Edge

2 people marked this as a favorite.

You are quite right, my bad. However, you need to affix a spellheart to the weapon to use it, and you can only affix a single spellheart or talisman to a weapon, otherwise " If more than one talisman is affixed to an item, the talismans are suppressed; none of them can be activated."


1 person marked this as a favorite.
The Raven Black wrote:
You are quite right, my bad. However, you need to affix a spellheart to the weapon to use it, and you can only affix a single spellheart or talisman to a weapon, otherwise " If more than one talisman is affixed to an item, the talismans are suppressed; none of them can be activated."

That is a solid point. I suppose the easiest outcome is suppression in that case, since in my mind at least, the two weapons become one item, complete with attached items.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Fused Staff and Spellhearts All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.