Does Aura of Courage need the Champion to be Frightened to affect others?


Rules Discussion


Aura of Courage states:

Quote:
Whenever you become frightened, reduce the condition value by 1 (to a minimum of 0). At the end of your turn when you would reduce your frightened condition value by 1, you also reduce the value by 1 for all allies within 15 feet.

Does this mean the Champion needs to have the Frightened condition to reduce the value for all allies?

My feeling is the Champion doesn't need to be frightened, since

  • the Champion still would reduce the Frightened condition if they had it, and
  • if the Champion needed the Frightened condition, it would say "At the end of your turn (when/if) you reduce your frightened condition value by 1..."

It just feels like very confusing wording, when it could simply say, "At the end of the Champion's turn, all allies within 15 feet with the frightened condition reduce the value by 1 (minimum 0)."


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Pretty sure it's just referring to that specific point of the end of your turn, because it otherwise makes no sense.


That is also how I read that rule. It is specifying the point in your turn. 'At the end of your turn when you would reduce your frightened condition'. It is not saying that you have to actually be reducing your frightened condition in order to trigger the effect for your allies.

The alternative reading (where you do have to actually have the frightened condition at the end of your turn) would mean that you could only use the ability for your allies if you happen to gain the Frightened 2 condition. If you only get Frightened 1, then you immediately reduce it to Frightened 0 and remove it before you reach the end of your turn where you would normally reduce your frightened condition. That almost makes the effect of the ability as it applies to your allies not worth the space needed to print it.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

"When you would reduce" refers to the step in the calculation process; if it only worked if you're frightened then it would just be "when you reduce".

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Does Aura of Courage need the Champion to be Frightened to affect others? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.