Dread Secret typo?


Rules Discussion


Dread Secret has a listed duration that says "until the start of your next turn" but for which effect is it?

The resistance loss is stated to last "until the end of your next turn" and the only other lingering effect is frightened, which has its own duration rules.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

I think it means that the frightened condition only lasts to the beginning of your turn, even if it would usually last longer, e.g. if you got a crit fail on the save.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

I agree this looks like a typo. There is no good reason to make fear effects go away at the start of your next turn, or to have specific information about an effect lasting until the end of your next turn in the specific tiers of success. This is a good candidate for errata.


I did consider it applying to the frightened condition. It would be the first time I'd see "unless specified otherwise" be relevant. It's just not specific enough for me to be confident about it, especially since they already went out of their way to specify the resistance loss duration.

If this is a typo, what's the best place here to drop this info for an errata fyi?


I'm curious. Have there actually been instances of frightened having a set duration instead of it naturally decaying every turn? I kinda want to see what that text looks like if it exists.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Dread Secret typo? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.