| Nygmus |
Ran into this one, couldn't find any errata or anything to clarify, so let's see what y'all think.
The Protection spell implies extra protection against summoned creatures. My question is, should that apply against all creatures that, by logic, were probably summoned at one point (for example, pretty much anything with the Fiend trait), or should that protection against Summoned creatures only apply against things with the Minion trait (for example, summoned into combat directly by means of Summon Fiend)?
Nefreet
|
Not all Fiends are Summoned. There are lots of ways for them to appear on the Material Plane.
I would rule that any ability with the word "summon" in its description is protected against. Spells like summon dragon or summon fiend, or creature abilities like a graveknight's phantom mount, but not rituals like infernal pact, because those are being "sent" to you by a powerful outsider; you are not "summoning" them.
Much like how if you had travelled through a portal to Hell, you would not be considered to be "summoned".
| Ubertron_X |
As far as I can think back D&D (and Pathfinder along it) always distinguished in between summoned creatures (usually short duration, aka in battle) or creatures that found other ways to enter our plane, often but not always on their own accord (via rituals, portals or gate spells; usually long term or even permanently).
The protection spell only works against those summons, i.e. your later assumption is correct.