Does a lifting belt override a Sprite's bulk limitations?


Rules Discussion


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

What happens when a sprite character is wearing a lifting belt? The lifting belt says the following:

You can carry Bulk equal to 6 + your Strength modifier before becoming encumbered, and you can hold and carry a total Bulk up to 11 + your Strength modifier.

Does this override a sprite's bulk limitations for being Tiny? Say my sprite character had 18 Strength. Would this allow them to carry 10 bulk before being encumbered, and 15 bulk max?

Or would I apply the belt, THEN halve the sum for 5 and 7.5, respectively?


6 people marked this as a favorite.

Considering that the order of events seem to be

1) Determine your (standard) bulk limit
2) Modify by size as per table 6-19

I'd go with the later, aka 5 and 7.5 for a STR18 tiny character.

This way the belt does provide an advantage of 1 bulk for medium and 0.5 bulk for tiny characters, which seems most consistent.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Does a lifting belt override a Sprite's bulk limitations? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.