Drone Expert AI


Rules Questions


Does a mechanic's drone's Expert AI allow it to take a move and standard action during its turn without needing the mechanic to use one of its actions to control it?

Limited AI (Ex) - 1st Level
Each round on your turn, after you have acted, your drone can take either a move action or a standard action to attack (your drone doesn’t make a separate initiative roll). You must be able to issue simple commands to your drone, but you don’t have to spend actions to issue these commands. To receive these commands, your drone must be able to see or hear you or be within range of your custom rig. If you become unconscious or otherwise unresponsive, or if your drone is ever out of range, your drone cannot take any actions until you are again able to command it or it is once more within range.

Expert AI (Ex) - 7th Level
Your drone’s AI has grown more sophisticated, giving it a more robust combat routine when not under your direct control. Each round on your turn, the drone can take a move action, take a standard action to attack, or make a full attack (this last option allows it to shoot more than once if it has the necessary weapons to do so). The drone takes a –6 penalty to full attacks made without your direct control instead of the normal –4 penalty. Like limited AI, you must still be conscious and within range.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

No.

Expert AI says exactly what the drone can do without any of the mechanic's actions. Move action, standard action, or full attack.

Full Attack is not interchangeable with a move and a standard in any other context, so there's no reason that it would be for a drone


Actually, it does NOT say the same.
Under Expert AI it lists 3 things, while under limited, it's only 2.

The way it's written is also vague. You're reading it as Move Action OR Standard Action OR Full Attack. However, it can also be read as (Move Action AND Standard Action) OR Full Attack. It's worth noting those are the same options that a normal character has.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Jim H wrote:

Actually, it does NOT say the same.

Under Expert AI it lists 3 things, while under limited, it's only 2.

The way it's written is also vague. You're reading it as Move Action OR Standard Action OR Full Attack. However, it can also be read as (Move Action AND Standard Action) OR Full Attack. It's worth noting those are the same options that a normal character has.

It is not vague in any way. Let me bold a couple words and commas here:

Expert AI wrote:
Each round on your turn, the drone can take a move action,take a standard action to attack, or make a full attack (...).

That's not vague. It says a move, a standard, or a full attack. It does not say a move and standard, it says 'or'.

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Drone Expert AI All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.