Does Two-Weapon Flurry need a MAP clarification?


Gunslinger Class


TWO-WEAPON FLURRY (Single Action) Feat 14
FLOURISH GUNSLINGER PRESS
Requirements You’re wielding two weapons, each in a different hand.
You attack with both your weapons in a furious barrage. Strike twice, once with each weapon.

Two-Weapon Flurry allows two strikes for one action, which is pretty boss, but I noticed it made no mention of the applicability of MAP. Reading it as written, I would rule that both attacks use MAP as normal (first attack would be at probably -5 since TWF is a Press, second attack at -10) but I could also see people getting confused about whether MAP applies.

My suggestion would be to rewrite the second sentence to read "Strike twice, once with each weapon, applying the multiple attack penalty as normal for each strike."

Thoughts?

Liberty's Edge

The clarification is in other similar ability, such as Flurry of Blows, so I would agree.

I've been trying to figure out how this feat will work without something like Dual-Weapon Reload, though. The combination of Flourish and Press makes it really hard to see how you have the hands and actions needed to meet its requirements.


Shisumo wrote:

The clarification is in other similar ability, such as Flurry of Blows, so I would agree.

I've been trying to figure out how this feat will work without something like Dual-Weapon Reload, though. The combination of Flourish and Press makes it really hard to see how you have the hands and actions needed to meet its requirements.

I noticed that the similar feat under the Dual Weapon Fighter archetype is written exactly the same as the Gunslinger one, so it looks like both could use a clarification.

As for your commentary on dual wielding and reloading, I completely agree. I'm still working through the nuts and bolts of the Gunslinger; I haven't even started trying to put everything together, but the need for constant reloading and the requirement for the free had to load, jumps out as an immediate problem for any kind of dual pistol wielder.


Shisumo wrote:

The clarification is in other similar ability, such as Flurry of Blows, so I would agree.

I've been trying to figure out how this feat will work without something like Dual-Weapon Reload, though. The combination of Flourish and Press makes it really hard to see how you have the hands and actions needed to meet its requirements.

you could use the pistol as an improvised weapon and hit yourself with it xD.

Shoot drop draw a loaded weapon then TWF. Or combine a thrown weapon with a gun.


Schreckstoff wrote:
Shisumo wrote:

The clarification is in other similar ability, such as Flurry of Blows, so I would agree.

I've been trying to figure out how this feat will work without something like Dual-Weapon Reload, though. The combination of Flourish and Press makes it really hard to see how you have the hands and actions needed to meet its requirements.

you could use the pistol as an improvised weapon and hit yourself with it xD.

Shoot drop draw a loaded weapon then TWF. Or combine a thrown weapon with a gun.

Two-Weapon Flurry is a level 14 feat. I would hope that you aren't expected to either pay for runes on an additional weapon or go runeless at that level for this to work.

My guess is that this is a simple oversight and the feat will be either fixed, removed, or reimagined in some way upon release. Until then, I honestly wouldn't bother with trying to come up with a situation in which to get it to work.


Serial Loafer wrote:
My guess is that this is a simple oversight and the feat will be either fixed, removed, or reimagined in some way upon release. Until then, I honestly wouldn't bother with trying to come up with a situation in which to get it to work.

Honestly, if TWF wasn't a Press, that would correct the vast majority of the issues with this feat. It's already a Flourish and it would make an excellent opening salvo for dual-wielding pistols, followed by reloading both pistols. Since this would only limit said Gunslingers to two Strikes with little extra utility, it behooves dual-wielders to save TWF for when they need to maximize their number of Strikes in their turn.

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Guns and Gears Playtest / Gunslinger Class / Does Two-Weapon Flurry need a MAP clarification? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.