Question about saves!


Rules Discussion


Situation: My 7th level Barbarian rolls a success in a Fortitude saving throw from a Disintegrate spell that critically hitted him

What situation should happen:

A) The result becomes a failure since being critically hit from a Disintegrate spell worsens the result by one step.

B) The result becomes a success because of "Juggernaut":When you roll a success on a Fortitude save, you get a critical success instead, and then because he was critically hit worsens to a result.


(B) Both effects apply. Note Juggernaut's wording is about what you rolled (definitely sucess) not what you got (arguably a failure due to the crit hit), so there is no ambiguity.


Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
(B) Both effects apply. Note Juggernaut's wording is about what you rolled (definitely sucess) not what you got (arguably a failure due to the crit hit), so there is no ambiguity.

Then, practical example with numbers:

7th Level Barbarian gets critically "Disintegrated", the Fortitude Save DC is 24 my barbarian rolls a 26 which is a success becoming a critical succes due to Juggernaut and then since he was critically struck downgrades again to a success?


Mezdorin wrote:
Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
(B) Both effects apply. Note Juggernaut's wording is about what you rolled (definitely sucess) not what you got (arguably a failure due to the crit hit), so there is no ambiguity.

Then, practical example with numbers:

7th Level Barbarian gets critically "Disintegrated", the Fortitude Save DC is 24 my barbarian rolls a 26 which is a success becoming a critical succes due to Juggernaut and then since he was critically struck downgrades again to a success?

Yes.

Note that if you do it in the other order, first downgrading (to a failure) and then applying juggernaut (which only cares that you rolled a success) to make it a critical success, you run headlong into the general rule that any given ability can only adjust the degree of success/failure by one step. So you end up going failure => success and getting the same end result.


Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
Mezdorin wrote:
Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
(B) Both effects apply. Note Juggernaut's wording is about what you rolled (definitely sucess) not what you got (arguably a failure due to the crit hit), so there is no ambiguity.

Then, practical example with numbers:

7th Level Barbarian gets critically "Disintegrated", the Fortitude Save DC is 24 my barbarian rolls a 26 which is a success becoming a critical succes due to Juggernaut and then since he was critically struck downgrades again to a success?

Yes.

Note that if you do it in the other order, first downgrading (to a failure) and then applying juggernaut (which only cares that you rolled a success) to make it a critical success, you run headlong into the general rule that any given ability can only adjust the degree of success/failure by one step. So you end up going failure => success and getting the same end result.

´

Thanks!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Question about saves! All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.