Can a oracle with the Tongues curse use scrolls in combat?


Rules Questions


"In times of stress or unease, you speak in tongues. Pick one of the following languages: Abyssal, Aklo, Aquan, Auran, Celestial, Ignan, Infernal, or Terran. Whenever you are in combat, you can only speak and understand the selected language. This does not interfere with spellcasting, but it does apply to spells that are language dependent. You gain the selected language as a bonus language. At 5th level, pick an additional language to speak in combat and add it to your list of known languages. At 10th level, you can understand any spoken language, as if under the effects of tongues, even during combat. At 15th level, you can speak and understand any language, but your speech is still restricted during combat."

Scrolls are written magical formulas. Does the "This does not interfere with spellcasting" mean you can or does "you can only speak and understand" mean you do not understand the writing? I know it says "speak and understand", so can you still read/write other languages you know?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

"This does not interfere with spellcasting" Scrolls are spell completion items, meaning you cast them as if you yourself were casting the spell but with the listed CL and minimum DC. You should be fine.

Magic isn't just a verbal language, and once one knows what the scroll is, they might not even need to think or try to comprehend how to cast the scroll and could just do it from muscle memory.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can a oracle with the Tongues curse use scrolls in combat? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions