Witch Hex casting v sustaining


Rules Discussion


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Sorry if this has already been discussed. I've tried to search for an answer but looking for threads about witch hexes was just coming up with discussions about their effectiveness.

My question is does sustaining a hex count against the one hex per turn limit?

The rules on hexes state:
As such, you can cast only one hex each turn; attempts to cast a second hex spell on that turn fail and the spellcasting actions are lost.

Looking through the Core rulebook Casting a spell is a seperate action to Sustaining a spell

If this is the case you whould be able to sustain a Hex at the same time as casting a new one. You would only be casting one Hex in that situation so you would appear to still satisfy the rules that you can cast only one hex per turn.

Is this the right interpretation?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Helvellyn wrote:
If this is the case you whould be able to sustain a Hex at the same time as casting a new one.

You are correct.

Be aware that Cackle (which sustains) is also tagged Hex, so you can't cackle and cast another hex.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Thanks.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Witch Hex casting v sustaining All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.