Nyctessa's "Once Per Turn" Base Power


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


I've been reading and rereading the text a couple of times, and I just don't think I understand how this power actually works.

Once per turn, if you are required to remove cards from your deck and you don't have enough, you do not die.

What constitutes the removal of cards from the deck? Does damage count, or is it something else?

Is it just the first card that is removed that activates the power since each flip of the card counts as one?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Anything that examines, discards, buries, banishes, draws, or otherwise requires that you physically lift a card out of your deck. If you need to do something with multiple cards such as “bury the top 1d4 cards of your deck” or drawing 5 cards to reset your hand, you remove them all at once.

Damage comes from your hand, not your deck.


skizzerz wrote:
...drawing 5 cards to reset your hand, you remove them all at once.

So I had a friend playing and the first time that he would have died on his turn was drawing 3 cards to reset his hand. Does he live?


If your friend was playing Nyctessa and needed to draw 3 cards to reset their hand and had 2 or less cards in their deck, and hasn't used Nyctessa's power yet, then Nyctessa power kicks in and they don't die. They pick up the 2 or less cards from their deck into their hand and are done resetting their hand. They need to do something before the next time they remove cards from their deck (which will be the end of their next turn if not sooner) or else they will die that time.

Lone Shark Games

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Well, as long as they never need cards except at the end of her turn, she won't die. Though most people do like the ability to reset their hand, all told.


Keith Richmond wrote:
Well, as long as they never need cards except at the end of her turn, she won't die. Though most people do like the ability to reset their hand, all told.

Ah, right. Because they can just do the same thing on the next turn. For a moment I had the Sajan power in mind that is once per scenario.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Nyctessa's "Once Per Turn" Base Power All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion