| Sambafreak13 |
Hi All!
Apart from using Padrig, which explicitly states you may banish as many monsters as you like to add 1d4/1d6 (role card) to your combat check, am I correct that the "only one card of each type per check may be played" rule applies to "monsters" as well?
in other words, I am assuming I can NOT banish multiple monsters to add multiple d4s to my check to defeat a barrier (or any other monster power i've checked off on his role card).
thanks in advance!
| skizzerz |
The rule is one boon of each type per check. Neither monsters, characters, nor cohorts are boons, and are therefore not limited by that rule. Also, unless the power says it counts as playing a monster, using a power on your character is not playing any of the cards you discard to it.
Playing a card = doing something with a card (such as recharge, discard, etc.) to use a power printed on that same card. in other words, what matters is where the power is printed, not what action you do to the card.
| Brother Tyler |
However, both versions of Balazar have their power worded in a way that implies that only one monster may be discarded.
...You may banish a monster from your hand to draw a card ([] or add 1d4 to any check to defeat a barrier)...
You may banish a monster from your hand to add 1d4 plus the monster's adventure deck number to a combat check by a character at your location...
Compare those to CD Amiri:
You may bury a card to add 1d10 to your Strength or Constitution check...
Amiri isn't able to bury multiple cards on the same check to add 1d10 for each check, is she?
An example of a character that can use their power to use multiple cards for a cumulative effect is CD Oloch:
When you attempt a check, you may display any number of blessings and spells; for each card displayed, add 1 ([] 2) to your check.
...or Mummy's Mask Channa Ti:
[] You may discard any number of cards that have the Acid, Cold, or Liquid trait to add 1d8 for each card discarded to your combat check...
...or Mummy's Mask Yoon:
On your combat check, you may recharge ([] or shuffle into your deck) a blessing to add your Fortitude and the Fire trait. You may additionally discard any number of cards to add 1d6 ([] 1d8) for each card discarded.
There are a number of other characters that follow this pattern. In all of these cases, the phrasing of the power explicitly allows the character to [play] multiple cards for a cumulative effect. By that example, any power that simply says that "You may [play] a card to..." only allows one card to be played for the effect.
Of course, it's always possible that I've missed some FAQ entries or some guidance from the powers-that-be saying otherwise (in which case I'll be pretty embarrassed).
| skizzerz |
+1 to Brother Tyler here. My understanding is that even in 'PACG 2.0'* a character can only use a particular character power once on a given check.
*If you'll pardon the expression.
This is correct; each character power can generally only be used once per check. I was replying on phone and didn't have the full power text in front of me, so I gave a generic answer rather than one tailored towards Balazar.