| Aratorin |
Whenever you sustain the spell to move the sphere, the sphere needs to rolled somewhere within range (30ft of the caster). The caster can move away from the sphere further than 30 feet without any problems.
The Spell would end on their next turn if the caster moved more than 30 feet away, as the sphere would be outside the Range of the Spell, and Spells have no effect beyond their Range. The caster would not be able to Sustain it.
Ranges, Areas, and Targets
Spells with a range can affect targets, create areas, or make things appear only within that range. Most spell ranges are measured in feet, though some can stretch over miles, reach anywhere on the planet, or go even farther!
| Henro |
@Aratorin
Flaming sphere is not causing an effect on a target, creating an area or making anything appear when the caster moves further than 30 feet of the sphere, so this line shouldn't apply.
Similarly, spells like Wall of Fire do not disappear when the caster moves out of range, and a spell like Fear does not need the caster to constantly stay within 30 feet of the target after the initial effect.
| Aratorin |
@Aratorin
Flaming sphere is not causing an effect on a target, creating an area or making anything appear when the caster moves further than 30 feet of the sphere, so this line shouldn't apply.Similarly, spells like Wall of Fire do not disappear when the caster moves out of range, and a spell like Fear does not need the caster to constantly stay within 30 feet of the target after the initial effect.
Right. I didn't say it would end immediately.
Neither of those Spells are Sustained. You cannot fulfill the Sustain requirements of Flaming Sphere, which you posted above, if you are not in Range.
| thenobledrake |
Aratorin, your reading of the range rule preventing a caster from moving more than 30 feet from their flaming sphere and them moving it to a spot within range the next time they sustain it seems like it would also prevent a fireball spell having it's full burst radius if the point chosen for the origin of the blast is at the edge of the spell's listed range.
That seems like indication that the range rules are meant only to govern the start of an effect, not the entire life of a spell effect.
| Aratorin |
Aratorin, your reading of the range rule preventing a caster from moving more than 30 feet from their flaming sphere and them moving it to a spot within range the next time they sustain it seems like it would also prevent a fireball spell having it's full burst radius if the point chosen for the origin of the blast is at the edge of the spell's listed range.
That seems like indication that the range rules are meant only to govern the start of an effect, not the entire life of a spell effect.
Oh, man, I really don't want this to get heated again.
The range rules do prevent the area of Fireball going outside the Range of the Spell.
Ranges, Areas, and Targets
Spells with a range can affect targets, create areas, or make things appear only within that range. Most spell ranges are measured in feet, though some can stretch over miles, reach anywhere on the planet, or go even farther!
Which is likely one of the reasons it has such an absurdly long range. In actual play, it's basically never going to come up that someone casts a Fireball at a point 480-500 feet away.
As to the discussion at hand...
Yes, I'll concede that I misread the Spell. I thought you could only move it 5', which would make moving it back into Range very difficult.
| Henro |
Flaming Sphere lets you do two things when you sustain, move it (to a square within range) or keep it where it is, damaging creatures in that square. It could be argued (and I probably would argue) that you can't keep the sphere in a space outside of the spell's range, but that's a bit of a grey area (I would be interpreting this as the spell creating an area outside of the range).
However, there is no need to keep within 30 feet of the sphere as a caster. For all intents and purposes, the spell functions much like Spiritual Weapon and it doesn't really matter where the sphere is after you sustain.
"Does a burst's origin point need to be within the range of a spell, or does the entire area need to be within range?" is a separate question, probably meriting it's own thread.
| thenobledrake |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Don't forget the text on page 444 "If a rule seems to have wording with problematic repercussions or doesn’t work as intended, work with your group to find a good solution, rather than just playing with the rule as printed." which would definitely apply to a spell not being able to function as written (pick a point up to 500 feet away from you and a 20-foot radius burst happens at that point being what the spell says, but an overly-strict reading of the range rules making that some weird lemon-shaped half-burst instead)
| Aratorin |
Don't forget the text on page 444 "If a rule seems to have wording with problematic repercussions or doesn’t work as intended, work with your group to find a good solution, rather than just playing with the rule as printed." which would definitely apply to a spell not being able to function as written (pick a point up to 500 feet away from you and a 20-foot radius burst happens at that point being what the spell says, but an overly-strict reading of the range rules making that some weird lemon-shaped half-burst instead)
The problem with that rule is that you think it applies to this scenario and I don't.
The aoe of a Fireball vanishing at the end of it's Range isn't any different than the Electric Arc being able to jump 30' north and then 60' south, but not 30' north and then 5' north argument.
A Spell cannot affect anything beyond its Range.
| thenobledrake |
The difference between electric arc and fireball is in intuitive reading: one says range 30, 2 targets and you can pick 2 targets within range - that matches to the intuitive reading, but choosing one target at 30 feet and one at 35 feet violates the intuitive reading of "range 30 feet."
But with fireball, the intuitive reading is that the 20-foot radius burst can originate from any point within the 500 foot range - and that would be violated if you actually couldn't get the full burst unless you chose a point only up to 480 feet away.
As for why you don't think a ruling that can result in a player getting blindsided at the table while they are trying to cast a spell and are following every word of the spell's text by a GM saying "actually, I can interpret this other piece of text as messing with that, so I'm going to" is exactly the kind of situation to which the text on page 444 refers... I really don't know.
A Spell cannot affect anything beyond its Range.
So you're saying all I have to do to end the effect of a debuff with a duration on my character is move further away from the caster?
| Aratorin |
Aratorin" wrote:A Spell cannot affect anything beyond its Range.So you're saying all I have to do to end the effect of a debuff with a duration on my character is move further away from the caster?
No. I did not say that. You are not debating in good faith.
You cannot cast a debuff beyond a Spell's Range, and you cannot create an Area of Effect beyond a Spell's Range. A Player's failure to read the Range rules is not the GM blindsiding them.
| thenobledrake |
You are not debating in good faith.
Aren't accusations of that against the rules? You can report me if you think I'm doing something wrong, but don't try to use an accusation as a counter-argument.
No. I did not say that.
You said that the following text, which you posted earlier and assigned bold emphasis to, means that the area of a spell can't exist outside the range of that same spell.
I am only changing where the bold emphasis is placed to highlight how that same reasoning applied to the full sentence does, in fact, say that just moving away from the caster of a debuff would end it:
Spells with a range can affect targets, create areas, or make things appear only within that range. Most spell ranges are measured in feet, though some can stretch over miles, reach anywhere on the planet, or go even farther!
You cannot cast a debuff beyond a Spell's Range
I'm not talking about casting a range 30 feet debuff at a range of 35 feet - I'm talking about what happens if the target leaves the range after being selected as a target. The caster picked a target within range - but unless we allow for not having the range continue to limit the spell's capabilities after that point, the target moving outside of range would mean it could no longer be affected.
For exactly the same reason that you say a spell's area of effect can't exceed the spell's range even though the caster is told to choose the point of origin within range and has done exactly that.
A Player's failure to read the Range rules is not the GM blindsiding them.
It absolutely is if, as is the case, everything appears intuitive to the player before that point. The player has absolutely no reason to believe that they don't know everything they need to know just by knowing the general definition of the word "range."
| Henro |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
the line "Spells with a range can.. create areas.. only within that range" could be interpreted either way as far fireball is concerned - it depends wholly on the meaning of "creating an area" which is never fully defined in the CRB, leaving it fairly open to interpretation.
Regardless, I feel like this is the topic of a new thread as it doesn't really relate to the answer of the OPs question.
| thenobledrake |
Regardless, I feel like this is the topic of a new thread as it doesn't really relate to the answer of the OPs question.
It is directly related, considering that the answer given is different depending on which side of the debate you go with:
either the sphere has to stay within 30 feet at all times because no spell, none, not one, not a burst, blast, debuff, summon, illusion, or anything can have whatever it does exist outside of the spell's range
or the sphere can be outside of its 30 foot range if the caster has moved away from it, but sustaining the spell will only keep it in place unless the caster is close enough to it to roll it to a space within 30 feet - and also other spells throughout the system function intuitively too.
| Aratorin |
Given that Aratorin (seemingly at least) said they had been mistaken about flaming sphere, I can't really see how that conversation can continue in regards to fireball.
You are correct. I already conceded the point around Flaming Sphere. The tangential discussion about Fireball is not relevant to the OP's question.
| Ravingdork |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Aratorin wrote:You are not debating in good faith.Aren't accusations of that against the rules? You can report me if you think I'm doing something wrong, but don't try to use an accusation as a counter-argument.
What you just did is a CLASSIC "debating in bad faith" move.
Don't do it if you want to avoid embarrassing yourself.