Kitsune Oracle Role Bonus Question


Rules Questions


I can not get an answer on this specific and probably easy question.

The Role bonus for Kitsune Oracle is
"Reduce the penalty for not being proficient for one weapon by 1. When the nonproficiency penalty for a weapon becomes 0 because of this ability, the oracle is treated as having the appropriate Martial or Exotic Weapon Proficiency feat for that weapon."

What does this mean?

It reads as if you can grow accustomed to a weapon, but no where else can I find this to be a thing.

Do you grow into a weapon? What is going on with the wording.

Please help.


Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber

The normal penalty to attack with a weapon you are not proficient with is -4. If you are a kitsune and select oracle as your favored class, then that penalty is reduced by 1 for any single weapon you are not proficient with each time you take a level in the oracle class. At 1st level, the penalty is -3, then -2 at 2nd level, then -1 at 3rd level. At 4th level, the penalty is gone and you are effectively proficient with that weapon. After 4th level, you can begin repeating the process with a different weapon or go with one of the standard bonuses (+1 hit point or +1 skill rank) instead.


Thank you! This explains so much!

But now I wonder, can you pick another weapon to do this with as well or can you only ever use that 1 weapon?


You can do it with another weapon, so by level 8 you could (for example) have proficiency with a melee weapon and a ranged weapon.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Kitsune Oracle Role Bonus Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions