The Whole Party Activates the Flying Carpet at Once...?


Rules Questions


Suppose you and your party are on a carpet of flying:

https://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic-items/wondrous-items/c-d/carpet-of-flying/

On each of your turns a PC speaks the command word, instructs the carpet to go-go-go, and so multiplies the carpet's fly speed by the number of PCs in the party.

This feels wrong, but I'm not sure why it's illegal. It certainly seems weird to have one person actively controlling the carpet, then have another person speak the same command word and wrest control away. I mean, what happens if an enemy hears the magic word and tries to direct the carpet?

Any help parsing these shenanigans?

Liberty's Edge

Hmmm. Peasant railgun kind of idea.

Standard action to activate the carpet, the action to direct it is not listed, but it requires to speak and give directions to the carpet.
So, as a maximum, the guys get to activate it spending an action, and then they are able to spend another action to move. So unless the carpet can accommodate 3 or more persons they get nothing than a single driver can't get if it spends two actions to have it move.

But I would treat it as a vehicle, so it could not exceed its maximum speed, regardless of the number of actions spent.

BTW, note that the carpet has a flying skill bonus, so its driver needs to make a flying skill check every time he changes its direction by more than 45° degrees or attempts other maneuvers. That can have some "fun" effect when the guy without the flying skill is controlling the carpet.

All included is one of those ideas where the guy that had it is gloating saying "I have broken the system." and the GM should explain to him that it is not a computer game and logic is applied to it when rules have holes.


That would be like having four people riding an elephant and each one moving it on their turn.

The carpet is activated by the command word. It can then move at 40 foot speed on its own turn. What it does on its turn is based on what instructions is has been given by the one who activated it. For simplicity we would normally have it act during the turn of the commanding character, but the carpet does not get to move multiple times in a round just because someone else took command.

Liberty's Edge

An evil interpretation on how it works is: "As no one wants to have the carpet moving every time you say something about directions (the carpet stay active even if no one is on it) and it doesn't say how it is deactivated, the same command word active and deactivate it. So when you try this trick the carpet deactive and you start falling."

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / The Whole Party Activates the Flying Carpet at Once...? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions