Tech Tinkerer and item levels


Rules Questions


3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Starfinder Accessories, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

I'm considering taking " Tech Tinkerer" as a mechanic trick a level two.

The ability states:

Quote:

The item must have an item level and bulk no greater than

half your mechanic level.

However, the ability doesn't state whether this applies to the starting item or the item you are trying to replicate.

I would assume starting item, but it isn't particularly clear. Should I assume since the ability doesn't reference "new item" as it does in other sentences, it refers to the original item?

Dataphiles

I do believe, and have treated the limitation as applying to the starting item.


Pathfinder Starfinder Accessories, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
"Dr." Cupi wrote:
I do believe, and have treated the limitation as applying to the starting item.

So at Level 2, you can modify a level 1 technological item to replicate a lower level technological of equal or lower bulk.

Do level 0 technological items exist? I can't seem to locate where in the rules on technology levels it clarifies if anything counts as level zero technology.

If level zero technological items don't exist, does this ability really do anything when available to a level 2 mechanic?


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Tech Tinkerer lets you modify tech items of up to half your mechanic level to temporarily function as items of a lower level. As the level 5 ability lets you spend RP to modify an item with a level equal to your mechanic level, the half level restriction must apply to the original item, or the level 5 ability makes no sense. Therefore, a level 2 mechanic with Tech Tinkerer can modify level 1 technological items to function as technological items with a level lower than 1; that is, item level 0.

No level 0 tech items exist, so the ability is useless at level 2. I think there's an implicit "minimum 1" missing from the text, but that's not RAW.

The level 5 ability is also poorly worded. It allows you to spend 1 RP to modify an item with a level equal to your mechanic level. I believe the intent is to modify an item with a level equal to or less than your mechanic level, rather than equal to or less than half your mechanic level, but the wording means that it is only for items that exactly match your mechanic level. So at level 5, when it becomes available, you can modify level 1 or 2 items, or spend 1 RP to modify a level 5 item. Levels 3 and 4 aren't allowed.

These are clearly nonsensical results, but they are what I see as the RAW there. Easily handled for a home game. A bit more problematic for organized play.


Pathfinder Starfinder Accessories, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Also, the 5th level change in the ability states:

Quote:
"At 5th level, you can spend 1 Resolve Point to use this ability to modify an item whose level is equal to your mechanic level, giving it the function of a lower-level item.

Are you really restricted to only "your mechanic level" and not up-to your mechanic level?

It's a little weird that your options at 5th are then items with "level and bulk no greater than half your mechanic level" or "an item whose level is equal to your mechanic level" and not anything in between.

Also, does bulk still apply when using the 5th level+ version?

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Tech Tinkerer and item levels All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions