Learn a Spell - Arcana trained skill?


Rules Discussion


Scenario: A cleric (Nethys) with a wizard dedication, 5th level, has Basic Spellcasting Feat

Can the above character use the Learn a Spell skill ability to add 2nd level spells from scrolls to his spell book, even though he can't prepare them yet through Basic Spellcasting Feat?

He would not be able to prepare them or cast them until level 6 (as I understand it).

I don't see anything in the skill saying can't do the Learn a Spell skill on spells you can't cast, they just have to be in your tradition.

Thanks,

Liberty's Edge

Your understanding is correct although it MAY be a bit of a waste of resources to spend you downtime and gold on scribing the new spell early.


Yes. The only thing the spell level matters for is the DC.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Learn a Spell - Arcana trained skill? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Discussion