Does the closing text on locations apply to all characters at the location?


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


For example: If a location says when closed “draw a card” do all characters there draw a card or only the character that closed the location?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

It only applies once, only to the character who has closed the location, immediately after having emptied the location and before moving to another location.


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Frencois wrote:
It only applies once, only to the character who has closed the location, immediately after having emptied the location and before moving to another location.

Close. There are two categories of closing effects:

If the text says before closing: These happen before you banish the cards from the location. Generally these types of effects either let you pick up certain cards from the location or may force you to encounter additional cards from the location before they go away.

If the text says on closing: These happen after you banish the cards from the location, but before you put the location card itself back in the vault and move elsewhere. Most closing effects are of this type.

If you have character, storybook, or other powers that say when closed, those happen immediately before any on closing effects.

The full sequence is as follows:

1. Search the location for villains. If you find any, banish all non-villain cards from the location then shuffle the location. It is not closed, do not do any of the other steps.
2. Apply any before closing effects on the location being closed.
3. Banish all of the cards in the location. If playing with pre-Core locations (double-sided), flip the location over.
4. Apply any when closed effects from characters, the storybook, etc.
5. Apply any on closing effects on the location being closed.
6. Put the location back into the vault and all characters that used to be at that location immediately move. Ignore this step if playing with pre-Core locations (double-sided).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Does the closing text on locations apply to all characters at the location? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion