Sign Language


Rules Discussion

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Society Subscriber

If a PC learns Sign Language, can he teach it to the rest of the party, without them having to burn a feat?


Not as written, no. You have to take the Sign Language Feat.


...someone had to teach your own character how to do sign language, and you still needed to burn the feat.


Not unless you allow the PC who speaks Infernal to teach it to the rest of the party without them having to burn a feat.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

One could easily imagine a downtime activity called "learn a language". But it could take months to accomplish. Especially since the lack of granularity means you either know or don't know a language, and there are no degrees of language mastery.


There is this, of course it's not official.

http://knowdirectionpodcast.com/2019/09/dev-pit-languishing-over-languages/


I am OK with using feats to learn languages but I am not sure why sign language is in a separate category. It should be uncommon maybe, but I don't get why it's game mechanically different to learn from the other languages.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Sign Language All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.