Distracting Feint and further Feints


Rules Discussion


I have a Scoundrel Rogue, and when choosing feats it seemed like Distracting Feint would be a great choice as it would help me keep the Feint debuff up after I landed it the first time. But then after reading the descriptions of the skill action and the feat more closely, it seems like it might not actually do anything here?

Feint says "Attempt a Deception check against that opponent’s Perception DC".

Distracting Feint says: "While a creature is flat-footed by your Feint, it also takes a –2 circumstance penalty to Perception checks and Reflex saves."

So, my understanding is that when using Feint I am the one making a check against the opponent's Perception DC, which would NOT have a -2 circumstance penalty (since it says the penalty applies to their Perception checks, not to their Perception score). Ergo, applying Distracting Feint to a creature does NOT make future attempts to Feint against them easier.

Just want to verify that my reading and understanding of the interaction here is correct.

Grand Archive

I believe you are correct in your understanding.

So with Distracting Feint some potential benefits are helping Hidden allies stay that way and setting up some of your blasters/big damage dealers for a better chance at having an enemy fail a reflex save against them.

This is in addition to being flat footed to you of course.

Design Manager

2 people marked this as a favorite.

DCs are calculated as 10 + your check modifier. Penalties to a check thus also apply to the associated DC unless otherwise stated. So a penalty to Reflex saves would affect your Reflex DC against being Tripped, for instance.


Mark Seifter wrote:
DCs are calculated as 10 + your check modifier. Penalties to a check thus also apply to the associated DC unless otherwise stated. So a penalty to Reflex saves would affect your Reflex DC against being Tripped, for instance.

Oh neat, then it does work the way I originally hoped and is quite nice for keeping up the Feint debuff on a target. Thank you for the clarification on this!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Distracting Feint and further Feints All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.