Imp abilities?


Rules Discussion


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

I've got some questions on imp abilities:

Don't read if you're one of my players:
1) Can it use its shapechange ability to go directly from one form to another, at the cost of a single action? Or does it have to revert to imp form first?

2) Is the natural imp form the only one that gets imp venom with its attacks? I suspect yes, since its stinger attack is the only one specifically listing that.

3) What effect does the imp's charm spell have on PCs? Assuming a failed save, I'm thinking I'll simply pass a note to the PC telling him he feels friendly toward the cute little creature, and let him roll with it. The question would be the same, I suppose, for any critter or NPC casting charm on a PC.


1. If it retains the ability in its new form, it can use that ability to go directly to another form. (For flavor, you might add a micro-moment where it's an imp in between.)

2. Unless it turned into a scorpion or something similar, I'd say yes too.

3. The main problem is metagaming, which is simply hard to avoid in this context. (Would my PC have been suspicious or not?? Either way, now they are.)
So yes, a note would likely be best. You might even phrase it similar to how you might phrase the results of a Sense Motive secret roll. Ex. "You can tell this creature is a friend." (Or whatever status the spell manages.)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Imp abilities? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.