Fortune Tellers


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


If by some stroke of luck you managed to get two fortune tellers (Ally) in your hand. Would they both trigger at the end of the move phase?


Um, what would be the argument that they shouldn't ?!? (Yes, they both trigger at the same "single point in time"" moment of "end of move phase" - but that doesn't mean that one of them (or any other "end of move phase" effect) is negated - it just means that you chose the order to resolve any and all such effects)


Just feels wrong. I move, call boon, reveal the card. If its a boon, I get to encounter it for free. If its a Bane I get the free scout and then my next one triggers and i call bane and get the free encounter. This is potentially two free encounters per turn.

Curious if there was a corner case rule that i missed that would stop this from happening.


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Yes. And you fully resolve one (including the encounter and anything that happens as a result of the encounter such as attempting to close on defeating a closing henchman) before you begin to process the second one.

Lone Shark Games

Just curious: Are you planning to empty your deck to make sure you get those two Fortune-Tellers back in your hand each turn? Because if so, good luck with that.


Mike Selinker wrote:
Just curious: Are you planning to empty your deck to make sure you get those two Fortune-Tellers back in your hand each turn? Because if so, good luck with that.

Just in case someone else is getting confused by this comment: Mike is talking about the severely nerfed post-Core version of Firtune-teller, that has to be recharged for its power (which renders that power rather useless in large parties where you need to consistently generate new explorations and using TF's second "discard to explore" power makes much more sense than just recharging for ODDS of an encounter).

OP is apparently talking about the pre-Core version which *reveals* for its power (which can ostensibly be considered over-powered in parties with up to 2-3 characters). Just goes to show you the difference that number of party members makes for the perceived value of a card.


Longshot11 wrote:
Nerf Stuff

My Group was unaware of the nerf, now I have to go find the FAQ. I assume it is in the FAQs?

EDIT: why isnt this FAQ updated:

https://paizo.com/paizo/faq/v5748nruor1gv#v5748eaic9scx

EDIT2: I cant find the FAQ

Lone Shark Games

The card functions just as you read it. If you're using an old pre-Core/Curse Fortune-Teller, it's reveal (and an extraordinarily powerful card in the right hands, easily securing you an additional "explore" 80% of your turns) - it's probably high level in a class deck, or low level in the Wrath box (where things are a bit more high-geared anyways).

If you're using the new Core / Curse Fortune-Teller, then it is much more sedate, able to secure you a recharge to examine (merely ok) and explore occasionally (something that is considered quite useful in many groups). It's much less worth building around, though, as you can't rely on getting an extra explore out of it on most turns.

Lone Shark Games

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Yup. Sorry, didn't realize this was a pre-Core version comment. We noticed that possibility and decided it needed to be busted down in Curse.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Fortune Tellers All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion