Deckbuilding clarification for OP


Pathfinder Adventure Card Society


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

In the conversation guide, it states that:

"Each adventure has directions for building and upgrading the vault.
These directions are typically based on card level, not on the Basic or
Elite traits, which no longer exist"

I was wondering if this allows you to ignore the "basic trait" rule when building your initial character deck?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

No. You still should build character decks using Basic cards first.

(There is discussion about removing this requirement soon, but it has not yet been applied.)

Scarab Sages 3/5 5/55/55/5 ***** Venture-Captain, Nebraska—Bellevue

Resurrecting this discussion to revisit the question.

Under "Rules Changes"

"ACG Core Set Rulebook, p26 wrote:
Characters build starting decks using level 0 cards (instead of Basic).

Under "Compatibility with Older Sets"

"ACG Core Set Rulebook, p26 wrote:
If an older card's level is B, C or P, treat it as 0.

Yet, under the guide, we still see ....

"Pathfinder ACS Guide, v6.1, p7 wrote:
Choose these cards using the Hierarchy in the sidebar at right.

That hierarchy remains:

1. Set B and Basic
2. Set B without Basic
3. Set 1 and Basic
Etc, etc, etc

So with the recent post offering to sub in cards from a scavenged core set + Crimson Throne set, are we now over restricting class decks relative to everything else?

Given the very limited 1 deck upgrade per session and the desire to grab level 1 items when available, it seems that players who use class deck characters get fewer options to use those level 0 cards than those who shell out the extra bucks to scavenge the new core sets.


You can now start a character with any level 0 card in their deck, regardless of whether it has the Basic trait or has a B or C indicator.

Foxoftheasterisk's response was accurate at the time, but the rules have been semi-formally updated. See this post by Vic, clarifying that the Hierarchy now effectively just refers to the level of your card, not the traits (except Owner), just note that I don't think the Card Guild Guide has been updated yet.

Scarab Sages 3/5 5/55/55/5 ***** Venture-Captain, Nebraska—Bellevue

Yewstance wrote:

You can now start a character with any level 0 card in their deck, regardless of whether it has the Basic trait or has a B or C indicator.

Foxoftheasterisk's response was accurate at the time, but the rules have been semi-formally updated. See this post by Vic, clarifying that the Hierarchy now effectively just refers to the level of your card, not the traits (except Owner), just note that I don't think the Card Guild Guide has been updated yet.

It would be nice to get that V6.2 ruleset. I completely missed that nugget buried in the second page of the blog post.

Thanks.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Adventure Card Society / Deckbuilding clarification for OP All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Adventure Card Society