Hand of the Mage and other worn items


Rules Discussion


Hand of the Mage: if I am a 5th level wizard, when I cast Mage Hand from the item it is heightened to the 3rd level and so I can target an unattended object with a Bulk of 1 or less?


I'm pretty sure that magic items generally cast a spell at the lowest possible level unless they say otherwise... still looking for an explicit mention, but the closest I'm finding is that the section on staves points out how heightening a cantrip cast from one works.

The item types that generally cast spells (scrolls and wands) have a specific "can't do cantrips".

The Exchange

I would argue that since a cantrip is AUTOMATICALLY heightened to half your level (p300) and you cast the spell, it would be heightened.

The item gives you the ability to cast a cantrip, it does not cast the cantrip

In addition, staffs with cantrips automatically heighten (p592)
Wands use your DC since you are casting the spell so it is not limited to the DC at which you can first cast the spell (p597)
Spells do not auto heighten but Cantrips are different

The rule of lowests possible level was a concept from PF1 which I do not think still holds true

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Hand of the Mage and other worn items All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Discussion