Sorcerors learning different level versions of (off-tradition) Bloodline Granted Spells


Rules Discussion


Like title says... I think this is pretty reasonable thing to allow, but am not sure if RAW allows it,
although designating them as Signature Spell can fill in for this, I don't think it should be required.

Although Spell Repertoire is limited to spells of your tradition, rules for Heightening Spells and Repertoire also state:

Quote:

When you get spell slots of 2nd level and higher, you can fill those slots with stronger versions of lower-level spells.

When you add spells, you might choose a higher-level version of a spell you already have so that you can cast a heightened version of that spell.

Which doesn't explicitly indicate an exception/expansion of limit to spells of tradition, but not unreasonably can be read to allow for higher level versions of Granted Spells (which you 'already have'). I don't think there are any now, but theoretically a Bloodline could Grant a high level version of a spell, in which case you might want to learn a low level version of it, except the above text doesn't really cover that at all (only higher/stronger versions).

Thoughts? FAQ?

Sovereign Court

Just allow them to freely Heighten any spell they know with any spell slot they have available. I have no idea why Paizo ever thought the requirement to learn the same spell over and over just to Heighten it was a good idea!. It's not! They didn't do it on any other classes except the Spontaneous casters.


Honestly that doesn't seem pertinent to this topic. I think there is some ambiguity on what RAW allows here re: higher level versions of Granted Spells, and am also interested in discussion of RAI (or potential Errata) for this specific topic within scope of broader RAW. The rule in question is about multi-level spell learning, the topic simply being whether (higher or lower) level variants of Granted Spells should also qualify for spell learning along with tradition spells. That nuance isn't even relevant if entire system of limitations on Heighten/Downcasting spells is removed as you may prefer. Thanks anyways, though.

Sovereign Court

Quandary wrote:
Honestly that doesn't seem pertinent to this topic. I think there is some ambiguity on what RAW allows here re: higher level versions of Granted Spells, and am also interested in discussion of RAI (or potential Errata) for this specific topic within scope of broader RAW. The rule in question is about multi-level spell learning, the topic simply being whether (higher or lower) level variants of Granted Spells should also qualify for spell learning along with tradition spells. That nuance isn't even relevant if entire system of limitations on Heighten/Downcasting spells is removed as you may prefer. Thanks anyways, though.

Ok, sorry, didn't mean to change the topic of your thread. RAW, it says under Granted Spells that that they are "automatically added to your spell repertoire in addition to those gained through sorcerer spellcasting." So, by my reading, they are on your spell list and can be taken at higher levels the same as the ones from your spell list. But ultimately that is up to the devs and their errata/FAQ to decide for sure.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Sorcerors learning different level versions of (off-tradition) Bloodline Granted Spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.