The Tall Knife timing


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Tall Knife said wrote:
Instead of your first exploration of your turn, discard to examine the top # cards of your location. Encounter 1 non-villain monster you find; it is defeated. If you do not find a non-villain monster, reload this card instead. Then shuffle all remaining examined cards into the location and end your turn.
Rulebook said wrote:
If the scenario lists a henchman with the word “closing,” you may attempt to close your location after defeating that henchman from that location.

So, I pull out a closing Henchman with tall knife and defeat it. I believe attempting to close because of that was part of the encounter in pre-Core (with the closing opportunity specifically spelled out on the henchman card) but seems much less clear post-Core, where nothing in the quote above indicates timing. Both the "closing henchman" closing opportunity and the Tall Knife's "end your turn" use only "then" as any timing indicator.

Also, note this quote in conjunction with Tall Knife's "it's defeated" power:

Rulebook said wrote:
During the encounter, effects might cause the card you’re encountering to be acquired, defeated, or undefeated. This does not end the encounter unless the effect specifically says it does.

This specifically indicates that Tall Knife doesn't end the encounter by itself, which leaves several possibilities:

- A) the closing attempt is NOT a part of the encounter (WHY?) but the Tall Knife's "end your urn" power IS part of the encounter (WHY?) - then Tall Knife seems a bit at odds with itself due to:

Rulebook said wrote:
If you are forced to end your turn before an encounter ends, shuffle the encountered card back into its location, or if it was summoned, it is neither defeated nor undefeated, and the encounter is over.

So either that's an indication that "end your turn" is NOT part of the encounter, or else the Tall Knife is supposed to "trump" the Rulebook and ignore the "not defeated" instruction. HOWEVER, the latter would also mean that you lose you Henchman closing - note that the post-Core text (quoted above) does NOT instruct you that you can "immediately attempt to close" upon Henchman defeat; so by the time you get this opportunity (after the encounter), it is too late as you have already ended your turn (during the encounter)

- B) the closing attempt is NOT a part of the encounter (WHY?) AND the Tall Knife's "end your urn" power IS NOT part of the encounter (WHY?): this would mean you can chose the order of these effects (or would it? Why not?) so you close, then move (under the new closing rules), then end your turn (due to Tall Knife).

- C) the closing attempt IS part of the encounter (WHY?) but the Tall Knife's "end your urn" power IS NOT part of the encounter (WHY?) - this reading would seem to fall afoul of:

Rulebook said wrote:
If you move during an encounter, any effects that would happen after the encounter do not happen

So you would close, move and then ignore Tall Knife's end your turn. Or would the *card* Tall Knife TRUMP the *Rulebook* rule? - but that would seem to render the quoted rule pretty much useless in all occurrences...

Also, given both effects are only timed with a "Then..." - what makes the one trigger IN the encounter and the other - AFTER the encounter?!?

- D) the closing attempt IS part of the encounter (WHY?) AND the Tall Knife's "end your urn" power IS ALSO part of the encounter (WHY?). - this runs into the same issue as A)

So, basically, what's the timing, encounter-wise, of Tall Knife's "then end your turn" (and I supposed, the closing henchmen's "attempt to close"). And why would they be different (if so)?

I feel a bit silly as I'm sure I should have the answer for this one, but my mind is currently drawing a blank.

Thanks for your input in advance.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Short answer: B.

Longer answer: On the Tall Knife, "encounter the card" and "shuffle and end your turn" are in separate sentences, so the latter happens only after you've finished the former—meaning you shuffle and end your turn only after you finish the encounter.

Really long answer: Let's look at Resolve the Encounter: "If the encounter is with a bane, and you succeeded at all of the checks required to defeat it, it is defeated; if it is not a villain, banish it and the encounter is over." This is a single instruction, so you can't just stop after "it is defeated" to do something else; you banish the henchman and end the encounter. Now you apply effects that happen when the bane is defeated, so now is when you attempt to close the location. (You are outside of the encounter at this point, but you're still dealing with effects that result directly from the encounter, so you're still in that first sentence of the Tall Knife.)

Assuming you close the location, now you have to do all of the things related to that: the other cards you examined are banished (they still count as being in the location even if you haven't put them back into the stack yet), the location goes back into the box, and you immediately move. (The encounter is long since over, so the rule "If you move during an encounter, any effects that would happen after the encounter do not happen" is not relevant.)

Once you've dealt with all these triggered effects, you finally get to that other sentence on the Tall Knife. There's nothing to shuffle (and no location to shuffle it into), but finally you are forced to end your turn.


Thanks for the detailed breakdown. Much obliged :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / The Tall Knife timing All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion