Trick Magic Item Confusion


Rules Discussion


My players and I are a little confused on the last bit of TMI.

Quote:
If you activate a magic item that requires a spell attack roll or spell DC and you don’t have the ability to cast spells of the relevant tradition, use your level as your proficiency bonus and the highest of your Intelligence, Wisdom, or Charisma modifiers.

In my party's instance, this would seem to be somewhere around 10 (level) + 4 (modifier) = +14

Quote:
If you’re a master in the appropriate skill for the item’s tradition, you instead use the trained proficiency bonus, and if you’re legendary, you instead use the expert proficiency bonus.

Trained proficiency bonus is simply +0, which seems to imply that the modifier is still at +14 until you get your appropriate Arcana/Occultism/etc up to Legendary, then it gets a bump to +16?

Are we missing something? It almost looks as if the trained prof bonus was possibly considered to be higher at some point but was removed.


Trained proficiency bonus is level+2, expert is level+4. Are you using playtest values?


Oh hey, look at that. Thanks!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Trick Magic Item Confusion All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.