Lightning Lash attack action


Rules Questions


Say I have a cleric with BAB +6, an active (previously cast) lightning Lash, and take a full attack action.

Does the cleric take two normal attacks at BAB +6/+1 and then an additional lightning Lash touch attack at +6 BAB? Or replace one of the normal attacks with the lightning Lash attack?

I'm pretty sure I get to use the lightning Lash as a free action on the round the spell is cast but am unclear how it works after the first round.


You don’t get the free attack on the turn you cast the spell. It is not a touch spell, it is a spell that grants you the ability to use a touch weapon for a duration of time (similar to elemental touch, which does not grant you the ability to discharge it as a free action on that turn). Then, you begin to follow normal rules. If you full attack and have iterative attacks, you can attack multiple times. Touch attacks are treated just like armed attacks in combat (unless they are a creature’s natural attack, like an undead shade). However, this specific touch weapon granted by the spell is limited to 1 use per round, unlike the touch weapon from elemental touch, for example. So for your remaining attack(s) granted by high BAB, you will have to use a different weapon (you do not have to worry about TWF penalties for this, as those penalties only apply if you are granting yourself the extra attack for having a second weapon)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Lightning Lash attack action All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions